Go See the Principal: True Tales from the School Trenches

By Gerry Brooks. Gerry Brooks is an elementary school principal turned YouTube celebrity who entertains K-12 teachers, administrators, and parents across the country. He tells jokes with the kind of mocking humor that gets a laugh, yet can be safely shared in school. After all, even great schools have bad days — when lesson plans fall through, disgruntled parents complain, kids throw temper tantrums because they have to use the same spoon for their applesauce and mashed potatoes, and of course, dealing with…The Horror! The Horror!…dreaded assessments. Ranging from practical topics like social media use in the class­room and parent-teacher conferences to more lighthearted sections such as “Pickup and Dropoff: An Exercise in Humanity” and “School Supplies: Yes, We Really Need All That Stuff,”Go See the Principal offers comic relief, inspiration, and advice to those who need it the most.

The Unicorn in the Barn

By Jacqueline Ogburn. Called an “enchanting, compassionate tale” by Booklist, this tender and illustrated middle-grade fantasy about a boy and the unicorn that changes his worldview is perfect for fans of Hello, Universe and Katherine Applegate.

For years people have claimed to see a mysterious white deer in the woods around Chinaberry Creek.

One evening, Eric Harper thinks he spots it. But a deer doesn’t have a coat that shimmers like a pearl, or an ivory horn curling from its forehead.

When Eric discovers the unicorn is hurt and being taken care of by the vet next door and her daughter, Allegra, his life is transformed. He’s thrust into a world of magical creatures just as his world at home starts to crumble.

A tender tale of love, loss, and the connections we make, The Unicorn in the Barn shows us that sometimes ordinary life can take extraordinary turns.

Byrd’s Books Summer Bookmark Contest- May 1st-31st

Design a bookmark inspired by your favorite book! You could win a Gift Certificate for $25.00 and 25 of your bookmarks in print for you to give to friends and WE will pass out the five winning designs all summer! The contest runs the month of May and will be judged by Bethel Arts.

ONE winning bookmark will be produced from EACH of the following 5 categories:

Pre-K – 3rd Grades, 4th – 5th Grades6th -8th Grades, 9th -12th Grades and an Adult category!

Note- the size of the space for the bookmark is actually 2 inches wide by 6 inches high.

Click HERE for form.

Artwork and completed entry forms must be returned to Byrd’s Books by Friday May 31st at end of day.

 

 

 

 

 

The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World

By Melinda Gates. A timely call to action for women’s empowerment by the influential co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation identifies the link between women’s equality and societal health, sharing uplifting insights by international advocates in the fight against gender bias. (social science). Illustrations.

“The Moment of Lift is an urgent call to courage. It changed how I think about myself, my family, my work, and what’s possible in the world. Melinda weaves together vulnerable, brave storytelling and compelling data to make this one of those rare books that you carry in your heart and mind long after the last page.”

—Brené Brown, Ph.D., author of the New York Times #1 bestseller Dare to Lead

“Melinda Gates has spent many years working with women around the world. This book is an urgent manifesto for an equal society where women are valued and recognized in all spheres of life. Most of all, it is a call for unity, inclusion and connection. We need this message more than ever.”—Malala Yousafzai

“Melinda Gates’s book is a lesson in listening. A powerful, poignant, and ultimately humble call to arms.” — Tara Westover, author of the New York Times #1 bestseller EDUCATED

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

By by C. A. Fletcher.

“This unputdownable story has everything–a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs.”–Kirkus Reviews (starred)
When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.
My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.
My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.
Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

Byrd’s Books is closed Sunday April 21st

We are closed Sunday April 21st in order to spend the Easter holiday with family. We extend our best wishes to you this weekend, whether you celebrate Easter, Passover, Palm Sunday or simply enjoy the beautiful spring day. We will se you when we re-open on Tuesday.

Learning to Heal: Reflections on Nursing School in Poetry and Prose at Byrd’s Books

In Celebration of National Nurses’ Week, join us at Byrd’s Books for a reading from a new anthology “Learning to Heal: Reflections on Nursing School in Poetry and Prose” on May 10, 2019  7 p.m.

What is it like to be a student nurse? What are the joys, the stresses, the transcendent moments, the fall-off-your-bed laughing moments, and the terrors that have to be faced and stared down?  And how might nurses, looking back, relate these experiences in ways that bring these memories to life again, demonstrating how nursing education has changed and yet remained the same?

To save a spot, click HERE. The event is free, but registering does help me put out enough chairs!

Join these nurse-writers as they read from their work in this one-of-a-kind anthology from Kent State University Press:

Amanda Anderson, MSN, MPA, RN, Associate Director of Care Transitions, Mount Sinai Health System and Contributing Editor for the American Journal of Nursing.

Cortney Davis, MA., APRN, Poet Laureate of Bethel; Editor and Annotator for the NYU Literature and Medicine Database.

Jeanne LeVasseur, APRN, PhD, Professor of Nursing at Quinnipiac University, CT.

Frances Smalkowski, CSFN, PMHCNS-BC-retired; BCC, Director of Pastoral Care at St. John Paul II Center in Danbury, Ct.

 

 

Tony Abbott brings The Great Jeff to Byrd’s Books May 11th at 2:00pm

Byrd’s Books welcomes Tony Abbot on Saturday May 11th back to Byrd’s Books to talk about and sign copies of his new book, The Great Jeff. To save a spot, or save a copy of the book, click HERE.

About the book:

Perfect for fans of Gary D. Schmidt comes the companion to the modern classic Firegirl.

Life hasn’t been great for Jeff Hicks. After years at his beloved St. Catherine’s, he’s forced to spend eighth grade in the public middle school, which he hates. He’s no longer speaking to his former best friend, Tom Bender, because of “that burned girl” Jessica Feeney. But worst of all, his family is changing, and it’s not for the better.When his mom comes home announcing that she’s lost her job, Jeff begins to worry about things far beyond his years: How will they pay the rent? Will his absentee dad step up and save the day? Is his mom drinking too much? And ultimately, where will they live? The Great Jeff is a powerful look at the life of a troubled boy who finds his life spiraling out of control. (ages 8-12)

The Great Jeff has received:

Publisher’s Weekly “Noteworthy Novel Sequels March 2019”

A star given to books of special distinction by the The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Goodreads reviews, Kirkus review, Review, and review.

About the author:

Tony Abbott is the author of over a hundred books for young readers, including the bestselling series the Secrets of Droon and the Copernicus Legacy and the novel, Firegirl. Tony has worked in libraries, bookstores, and a publishing company, and has taught creative writing. He has two grown daughters and lives in Connecticut with his wife and two dogs.

Note: One of Byrd’s Books staff pick favorites is Denis Ever After by Tony Abbott!

The Pidgeon Needs a Bath Book!

By Mo Willems. The Pigeon really needs a bath! Except, the Pigeon’s not so sure about that. Besides, he took a bath last month! Maybe. It’s going to take some serious convincing to try and get the Pigeon to take the plunge.

A Mo Willems’ fan favorite condensed in a bath book format.

The Animal’s Companion: People & Their Pets, a 26,000-Year Love Story

By Jacky Colliss Harvey. A unique, compelling exploration of the universal human need for animal companions — from dogs and cats to horses, birds, house-rabbits, and even exotica such as lizards and snakes — through the eyes of an historical detective and devoted pet-lover.
The earliest evidence of a human and a pet can be traced as far back as 26,000 BC in France, where a boy and his “canid” took a walk through a cave. Their foot and paw prints were preserved together on the muddy cave floor, and smoke from the torch the boy carried was left on the walls, allowing archaeologists to carbon-date their journey. Our innate and undeniable need to live in the close company of animals is evident since pre-historic times.

In The Animal’s Companion, bestselling author, acclaimed cultural detective and lifelong pet owner Jacky Colliss Harvey uses her compelling storytelling skills and keen eye for historical investigation to examine our role as animals’ companions, in this exploration of the history not of the pet, but of us as pet owners.

Drawing on literary, artistic, and archaeological evidence over thousands of years of human experience, she examines the when, the how, and the why of our connection to those animals we take into our lives, assessing these against the latest scientific thinking, and suggesting new insights into this most long-standing of all human love affairs.

wwd