Aru Shah and the End of Time

By Roshani Chokshi. Telling fibs in order to fit in better with her wealthier peers, 12-year-old Aru Shah spends her school break at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, where her decision to light a cursed lamp unwittingly releases an ancient demon. By the author of The Star-Touched Queen.

Buy Book

The Wicked Deep

By Shea Emshaw. Three sisters, drowned as witches in Sparrow, Oregon, in the 1800s, return each summer for revenge but Penny, seventeen, is determined to stop them to save the boy she loves.

Buy Book

The Serpent’s Secret

By Sayantani Dasgupta. Up until her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala considered herself an ordinary sixth-grader in Parsippany, New Jersey, but then her parents disappear and a drooling rakkhosh demon shows up in her kitchen, and soon she is swept into another dimension, full of magic, winged horses, talking birds (very annoying), and cute princes–and somehow Kiranmala needs to sort it all out, find her parents, and basically save the world.

Buy Book

Granted

By John David Anderson. A fairy-in-training who is among the select few who grant the wishes of unsuspecting people struggles to protect the fairy world in the face of waning magic levels, an effort that exposes her to the dangers of the human world. By the award-winning author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.

Buy Book

Marabel and the Book of Fate

By Tracy Barrett. When Princess Marabel’s twin brother, Marco, is kidnapped on their thirteenth birthday, Princess Marabel must defy expectations and prophecies, leave the castle for the first time, and face great danger to rescue him.

All the Crooked Saints

By Maggie Stiefvater. When Daniel Soria, the current saint of Bicho Raro, Colorado, violates the family’s greatest taboo, Beatriz and Joaquin, along with the pilgrims, must drive off the darkness.

Buy book

SaveSave

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Illustrated Edition

By J.K. Rowling and Newt Scamander. Offers alphabetically arranged entries detailing the characteristics of such mythical beasts as hippogriffs, blast-ended skrewts, dragons, and unicorns.

Buy book

SaveSave

SaveSave

The Girl Who Saved Christmas

By Matt Haig. A follow-up to the best-selling A Boy Called Christmas traces the story of the world’s first child to receive a Christmas present and the hardships that chip away at her hope, inadvertently draining magic levels at the North Pole.

Buy book

SaveSave

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

By Alexandra Bracken. A modern New England boy must rid himself of the ancient demon inhabiting his body and break his family’s curse.

Buy book

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Buy book

SaveSave

wwd