All the Crooked Saints

By Maggie Stiefvater. When Daniel Soria, the current saint of Bicho Raro, Colorado, violates the family’s greatest taboo, Beatriz and Joaquin, along with the pilgrims, must drive off the darkness.

Buy book

SaveSave

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Illustrated Edition

By J.K. Rowling and Newt Scamander. Offers alphabetically arranged entries detailing the characteristics of such mythical beasts as hippogriffs, blast-ended skrewts, dragons, and unicorns.

Buy book

SaveSave

SaveSave

The Girl Who Saved Christmas

By Matt Haig. A follow-up to the best-selling A Boy Called Christmas traces the story of the world’s first child to receive a Christmas present and the hardships that chip away at her hope, inadvertently draining magic levels at the North Pole.

Buy book

SaveSave

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

By Alexandra Bracken. A modern New England boy must rid himself of the ancient demon inhabiting his body and break his family’s curse.

Buy book

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Buy book

SaveSave

wwd