All the Crooked Saints

By Maggie Stiefvater. When Daniel Soria, the current saint of Bicho Raro, Colorado, violates the family’s greatest taboo, Beatriz and Joaquin, along with the pilgrims, must drive off the darkness.

Buy book

SaveSave

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Illustrated Edition

By J.K. Rowling and Newt Scamander. Offers alphabetically arranged entries detailing the characteristics of such mythical beasts as hippogriffs, blast-ended skrewts, dragons, and unicorns.

Buy book

SaveSave

SaveSave

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

By Jessica Townsend. “A cursed child destined to die on her eleventh birthday is rescued and whisked away to a secret realm called Nevermoor and given the chance to compete for a place in a prestigious organization called the Wundrous Society”–

Buy book

SaveSave

Hiddensee: A Tale of the Once and Future Nutcracker

By Gregory Maguire. Presents an imaginative tale rooted in early nineteenth-century German Romanticism that explores parallels between the origin legend of the famous Nutcracker with the life of Drosselmeier, the toymaker who carves him.

Buy book

SaveSave

The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage

By Philip Pullman. A highly anticipated latest series set in the parallel world of His Dark Materials begins 10 years before the events of The Golden Compass and centers on the early childhood of Lyra, her daemon Pantalaimon, and the struggle between totalitarians and supporters of free speech.

Buy book

SaveSave

Her Body and Other Parties: Stories

By Carmen Maria Machado. DEBUT Eight unearthly and imaginative stories comprise this debut story collection. “Especially Heinous” stands out as a peculiar and enchanting retelling of episodes from the TV series Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (SVU). With its malevolent doppelgängers mimicking both lead characters, while a host of girls-with-bells-for-eyes haunt the increasingly unhinged detective Olivia, this novella ensures that its readers will never watch reruns of SVU without drawing upon Machado’s novella as a frame of reference. Collectively, the stories reflect the commonplace reality wherein women’s bodies are not their own. Two pieces in particular make this grim connection. In “The Husband Stitch,” Machado puts her own spin on an urban legend wherein a young wife struggles against her husband’s persistent attempts to remove a green ribbon from her neck. In “Real Women Have Bodies,” women have slowly begun to disappear, seemingly without widespread alarm. VERDICTIncluding stories previously published in such journals as Granta and The New Yorker, this brilliant debut compilation showcases a fresh literary voice. Machado’s originality and emotional acumen make her a match for Karen Russell or Kelly Link. Highly recommended.—Faye Chadwell, Oregon State Univ., Corvallis (sic-fi, fantasy)

Buy book

SaveSave

The Wonderling

By Mira Bartok. A debut novel by the award-winning author of The Memory Palace follows the experiences of a foxlike foundling with one ear who endures an oppressive life in an orphanage for part-animal humans until an unexpected act of courage leads to a friendship and a quest to discover his destiny.

Buy book

SaveSave

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

By Alexandra Bracken. A modern New England boy must rid himself of the ancient demon inhabiting his body and break his family’s curse.

Buy book

SaveSave

Serafina and the Splintered Heart

By Robert Beatty. When a mysterious threat moves towards Biltmore, bringing with it violent storms and flooding, Serafina must fight to defend all she loves and become everything that she is meant to be.

Buy book

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Buy book

SaveSave

wwd