The Trials of Morrigan Crow

By Jessica Townsend. “A cursed child destined to die on her eleventh birthday is rescued and whisked away to a secret realm called Nevermoor and given the chance to compete for a place in a prestigious organization called the Wundrous Society”–

Buy book

SaveSave

Lost in the Pacific, 1942: Not a Drop to Drink

By Tod Olson. Documents the harrowing true story of a band of World War II soldiers whose plane crashed in the middle of the Pacific, forcing them to rely on each other for weeks to survive without supplies in the face of sharks, extreme heat, dehydration and starvation.

Buy Book

The Player King

By Avi. In 1486 England, a penniless kitchen boy named Lambert Simnel is told by a mysterious friar that he, Lambert, is actually Prince Edward, the true King of England, setting him on a dangerous course to regain the throne. Based on a true story.

Buy book

SaveSave

SaveSave

Ghosts of Greenglass House

By Kate Milford. Spending another holiday season stuck in a house full of unusual guests who are not what they seem, 13-year-old Milo uncovers fresh clues alongside old and new friends who help him search for a mysterious map and a famous smuggler’s lost haul, in a sequel to the Edgar Award-winning Greenglass House.

Buy book

SaveSave

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

By J.K. Rowling. An illustrated rendering of the third volume in the internationally best-selling series follows the efforts of the wizard Boy Who Lived to outmaneuver an escaped criminal believed to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord.

Buy book

SaveSave

Wishtree

By Katherine Applegate. An old red oak tree tells how he and his crow friend, Bongo, help their human neighbors get along after a threat against an immigrant family is carved into the tree’s trunk.

Buy book

SaveSave

Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World

By Reshma Saujani. Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Malala Yousafzai, and John Legend.

Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 40,000 girls across America. Now its founder, Reshma Saujani, wants to inspire you to be a girl who codes! Bursting with dynamic artwork, down-to-earth explanations of coding principles, and real-life stories of girls and women working at places like Pixar and NASA, this graphically animated book shows what a huge role computer science plays in our lives and how much fun it can be. No matter your interest—sports, the arts, baking, student government, social justice—coding can help you do what you love and make your dreams come true. Whether you’re a girl who’s never coded before, a girl who codes, or a parent raising one, this entertaining book, printed in bold two-color and featuring art on every page, will have you itching to create your own apps, games, and robots to make the world a better place.

Buy book

SaveSave

Join us for the book launch of “I Love You, Michael Collins” Saturday July 8th at 2:00pm

Please join us for the book launch of Lauren Barat-Logsted’s later book, “I Love You Michael Collins” on Saturday July 8th at 2:00pm. You can register HERE.

About the book:

It’s 1969 and the country is gearing up for what looks to be the most exciting moment in U.S. history: men landing on the moon. Ten-year-old Mamie’s class is given an assignment to write letters to the astronauts. All the girls write to Neil Armstrong (“So cute!”) and all the boys write to Buzz Aldrin (“So cool!”). Only Mamie writes to Michael Collins, the astronaut who will come so close but never achieve everyone else’s dream of walking on the moon, because he is the one who must stay with the ship. After school ends, Mamie keeps writing to Michael Collins, taking comfort in telling someone about what’s going on with her family as, one by one, they leave the house thinking that someone else is taking care of her–until she is all alone except for her cat and her best friend, Buster. And as the date of the launch nears, Mamie can’t help but wonder: Does no one stay with the ship anymore? With I LOVE YOU, MICHAEL COLLINS, Lauren Baratz-Logsted has created a heartwarming story about family and being true to yourself.

Cake will be served! (read the book to understand why!!!)

About the author:

Lauren Baratz-Logsted is the author of over 25 books for adults, teens and children, including the popular nine-book series The Sisters 8, which she created with her husband and daughter. Before becoming a writer, Lauren was an independent bookseller, Publishers Weekly reviewer, freelance editor, sort-of librarian, and window washer. She lives in Danbury, Connecticut, with her family and their cat, Yoyo. She still remembers watching the astronauts land on the moon.

Serafina and the Splintered Heart

By Robert Beatty. When a mysterious threat moves towards Biltmore, bringing with it violent storms and flooding, Serafina must fight to defend all she loves and become everything that she is meant to be.

Buy book

Now in paperback

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Buy book

SaveSave

wwd