Ghosts of Greenglass House

By Kate Milford. Spending another holiday season stuck in a house full of unusual guests who are not what they seem, 13-year-old Milo uncovers fresh clues alongside old and new friends who help him search for a mysterious map and a famous smuggler’s lost haul, in a sequel to the Edgar Award-winning Greenglass House.

Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World

By Reshma Saujani. Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Malala Yousafzai, and John Legend.

Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 40,000 girls across America. Now its founder, Reshma Saujani, wants to inspire you to be a girl who codes! Bursting with dynamic artwork, down-to-earth explanations of coding principles, and real-life stories of girls and women working at places like Pixar and NASA, this graphically animated book shows what a huge role computer science plays in our lives and how much fun it can be. No matter your interest—sports, the arts, baking, student government, social justice—coding can help you do what you love and make your dreams come true. Whether you’re a girl who’s never coded before, a girl who codes, or a parent raising one, this entertaining book, printed in bold two-color and featuring art on every page, will have you itching to create your own apps, games, and robots to make the world a better place.

Join us for the book launch of “I Love You, Michael Collins” Saturday July 8th at 2:00pm

Please join us for the book launch of Lauren Barat-Logsted’s later book, “I Love You Michael Collins” on Saturday July 8th at 2:00pm. You can register HERE.

About the book:

It’s 1969 and the country is gearing up for what looks to be the most exciting moment in U.S. history: men landing on the moon. Ten-year-old Mamie’s class is given an assignment to write letters to the astronauts. All the girls write to Neil Armstrong (“So cute!”) and all the boys write to Buzz Aldrin (“So cool!”). Only Mamie writes to Michael Collins, the astronaut who will come so close but never achieve everyone else’s dream of walking on the moon, because he is the one who must stay with the ship. After school ends, Mamie keeps writing to Michael Collins, taking comfort in telling someone about what’s going on with her family as, one by one, they leave the house thinking that someone else is taking care of her–until she is all alone except for her cat and her best friend, Buster. And as the date of the launch nears, Mamie can’t help but wonder: Does no one stay with the ship anymore? With I LOVE YOU, MICHAEL COLLINS, Lauren Baratz-Logsted has created a heartwarming story about family and being true to yourself.

Cake will be served! (read the book to understand why!!!)

About the author:

Lauren Baratz-Logsted is the author of over 25 books for adults, teens and children, including the popular nine-book series The Sisters 8, which she created with her husband and daughter. Before becoming a writer, Lauren was an independent bookseller, Publishers Weekly reviewer, freelance editor, sort-of librarian, and window washer. She lives in Danbury, Connecticut, with her family and their cat, Yoyo. She still remembers watching the astronauts land on the moon.

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Gail Carson Levine, the author of “Ella Enchanted” is launching her new book at Byrd’s Books!

Byrd’s Books celebrates the release of Gail Carson Levine’s latest book, “The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre” with the author on Saturday May 13th at 1:00pm. To register and save a spot click HERE.

About the book:

In this compelling and thought-provoking fantasy set in the world of The Two Princesses of Bamarre, Newbery Honor-winning author Gail Carson Levine introduces a spirited heroine who must overcome deeply rooted prejudice—including her own—to heal her broken country.

Peregrine strives to live up to the ideal of her people, the Latki—and to impress her parents: affectionate Lord Tove, who despises only the Bamarre, and stern Lady Klausine. Perry runs the fastest, speaks her mind, and doesn’t give much thought to the castle’s Bamarre servants, whom she knows to be weak and cowardly.

But just as she’s about to join her father on the front lines, she is visited by the fairy Halina, who reveals that Perry isn’t Latki-born. She is Bamarre. The fairy issues a daunting challenge: against the Lakti power, Perry must free her people from tyranny.

About the author: 

Gail Carson Levine’s first book for children, Ella Enchanted, was a Newbery Honor Book. Levine’s other books include Ever, a New York Times bestseller; Fairest, a Best Book of the Year for Publishers Weekly and School Library Journal, and a New York Times bestseller; Dave at Night, an ALA Notable Book and Best Book for Young Adults; The WishThe Two Princesses of BamarreA Tale of Two Castles; and the six Princess Tales books. She is also the author of the nonfiction books Writing Magic: Creating Stories That Fly and Writer to Writer: From Think to Ink, as well as the picture books Betsy Who Cried Wolf and Betsy Red Hoodie. Gail Carson Levine and her husband, David, live in a two-centuries-old farmhouse in the Hudson Valley of New York State.

 

The Poet’s Dog

poets-dogBy Sarah MacLachlan. A dog with unusual communication talents loses his poet owner before rescuing two children trapped in a snowstorm and leading them to the shelter of the poet’s cabin, where the children explore the memories that the poet has left behind. By the Newbery Medal-winning author of Sarah, Plain and Tall.

Ghosts

ghostsBy Raina Telgemeier. The multiple Eisner Award-winning creator of Drama presents the graphically illustrated story of Catrina, who moves to coastal Northern California in the hope that the climate will be better for her sick little sister and who learns that her new community is haunted.

Tom Gates: Everything’s Amazing (Sort Of)

tomgate-everythingThings are looking up for Tom Gates. The school dance is coming up, and his birthday, too! What could possibly put him in a bad mood? Well, the words math lesson, for one thing. And that annoying twit Marcus Meldrew at school. And Granny Mavis threatening to bake Tom s birthday cake (carrots!). And the fact that nobody seems to be noticing the long list of birthday presents Tom has prominently displayed. Worst of all, can it be true that Tom s dad has volunteered to deejay the school dance wearing the wacky costume from his new job?”

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

fantastic-beastsByrd’s Books celebrates the Friday November 18th book release of “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” by opening from 9:00am to 9:00pm on the day of the book release. Yes, bring your wand- refreshments all day! To pre-order a copy at a special price, click HERE.

About the book:

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…
Inspired by the original Hogwarts textbook by Newt Scamander, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. A feat of imagination and showcasing a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best. Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any film lover’s or reader’s bookshelf.
The film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them will have its theatrical release on November 18, 2016.

The Wild Robot

Wild RobotBy Peter Brown

Initializing for the first time on a remote island where she is all alone, Roz the robot learns survival strategies from the island’s hostile animals and finally gains acceptance when she cares for an orphaned gosling. By the Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator of Creepy Carrots!.

wwd