Emma and the Blue Genie

EmmaBlueGenieEmma and the Blue Genie
By Cornelia Funke, illustrated by Kerstin Meyer, translated by Oliver Latsch

The beloved and bestselling author of Inkheart brings her signature imagination, adventure, and humor to a magical full-color chapter book for young readers!

One night, Emma finds a mysterious green bottle floating in the ocean. When she pulls out the stopper, she sets a blue genie free! Most genies grant three wishes, but Karim can’t grant even one anymore. A yellow genie stole his magic nose ring, leaving him small, powerless, and trapped in that bottle. Emma and her noodle-tailed dog have to help Karim get his nose ring – and his magic – back!

The Doll People Set Sail

DollPeopleThe Doll People Set Sail
By Ann M. Martin & Laura Godwin, illustrated by Brett Helquist

Annabelle Doll, Tiffany Funcraft, and their families are whisked out to sea when the Palmers accidentally place them in a box destined for charity donation. And it turns out they’re not alone – there are plenty of other doll people on the ship, too. After traveling thousands of miles, will they be able to find their way home?

In the fourth installment in the beloved Doll People series, Brett Helquist joins Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin on another exhilarating adventure from a doll’s-eye view.

The Crazy Classroom Caper

CrazyClassroomCaperBy Tony Abbott

Fans of Dav Pilkey’s The Adventures of Ook and Glook and Patricia Reilly Giff’s ZigZag Kids will flock to this chapter-book mystery series full of slapstick humor and silly situations by the wildly popular Tony Abbott, author of the Secrets of Droon series.

Jeff, Mara, Brian, and Kelly are Goofballs and proud of it. Goofball private eyes. Together, they solve mysteries. How do they discover the truth? They use funny disguises, nutty inventions, and their secret weapon: Sparky the Goofdog! Objects have been disappearing from Ms. Becker’s kindergarten classroom – blocks, an easel, even the class goldfish!

Luckily, the Goofballs are ready to go undercover to help their former teacher learn the truth. But posing as teachers is hard work, especially when the entire class may be as smart as Kelly, as observant as Jeff, as creative as Mara, and as goofy as Brian.

Everyone’s a suspect, and every time the Goofballs turn their backs, something else vanishes. Soon, the whole classroom will be gone! Have the Goofballs been out-goofed? These young sleuths have never failed so solve a case, and they don’t intend to start now!

The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket

Terrible ThingBy John Boyne

Barnaby Brocket is an ordinary 8-year-old boy in most ways, but he was born different in one important way: he floats. Unlike everyone else, Barnaby does not obey the law of gravity. His parents, who have a horror of being noticed, want desperately for Barnaby to be normal, but he can’t help who he is. And when the unthinkable happens, Barnaby finds himself on a journey that takes him all over the world. From Brazil to New York, Canada to Ireland, and even to space, the floating boy meets all sorts of different people – and discovers who he really is along the way.

This whimsical novel will delight middle graders, and make readers of all ages question the meaning of normal.

E. Aster Bunnymund

E. Aster Bunnymund cover

By William Joyce

Pitch, the Nightmare King, and his Fearlings had been soundly driven back by Nicholas St. North and company in the first Guardians’ adventure. But now Pitch has disappeared completely–and out of sight does NOT make for out of mind. Enter E. Aster Bunnymund, the only emissary of the fabled brotherhood of the Pookas–the league of philosophical warrior rabbits of imposing intellect and size.

 

wwd