Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

By Matthew Sullivan. When a bookshop patron commits suicide, his favorite store clerk must unravel the puzzle he left behind in this fiendishly clever debut novel from an award-winning short story writer. Lydia Smith lives her life hiding in plain sight. A clerk at the Bright Ideas bookstore, she keeps a meticulously crafted existence among her beloved books, eccentric colleagues, and the BookFrogs–the lost and lonely regulars who spend every day marauding the store’s overwhelmed shelves. But when Joey Molina, a young, beguiling BookFrog, kills himself in the bookstore’s upper room, Lydia’s life comes unglued. Always Joey’s favorite bookseller, Lydia has been bequeathed his meager worldly possessions. Trinkets and books; the detritus of a lonely, uncared for man. But when Lydia flips through his books she finds them defaced in ways both disturbing and inexplicable. They reveal the psyche of a young man on the verge of an emotional reckoning. And they seem to contain a hidden message. What did Joey know? And what does it have to do with Lydia? As Lydia untangles the mystery of Joey’s suicide, she unearths a long buried memory from her own violent childhood. Details from that one bloody night begin to circle back. Her distant father returns to the fold, along with an obsessive local cop, and the Hammerman, a murderer who came into Lydia’s life long ago and, as she soon discovers, never completely left. Bedazzling, addictive, and wildly clever, Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore is a heart-pounding mystery that perfectly captures the intellect and eccentricity of the bookstore milieu and will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Buy book

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Buy book

SaveSave

She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World

By Chelsea Clinton. Profiles the lives of thirteen American women who have left their mark on U.S. history, including Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Margaret Chase Smith, and Oprah Winfrey.

Buy book

SaveSave

Milk and Honey

By Rupi Kaur. #1 New York Times bestseller Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Buy book

SaveSave

Churchill and Orwell: The Fight for Freedom

By Thomas E. Ricks. A dual portrait of Winston Churchill and George Orwell focuses on the pivotal years from the mid-1930s through the 1940s, describing how both suffered nearly fatal injuries before their vision and campaigns inspired action to preserve democracy throughout the world.

Buy book

SaveSave

Astrophysics For People in a Hurry

By Neil deGrasse-Tyson. What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There’s no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.But today, few of us have time to contemplate the cosmos. So Tyson brings the universe down to Earth succinctly and clearly, with sparkling wit, in tasty chapters consumable anytime and anywhere in your busy day.While you wait for your morning coffee to brew, for the bus, the train, or a plane to arrive, Astrophysics for People in a Hurry will reveal just what you need to be fluent and ready for the next cosmic headlines: from the Big Bang to black holes, from quarks to quantum mechanics, and from the search for planets to the search for life in the universe.

Buy book

SaveSave

SaveSave

Berry School Shop Night Wednesday November 9th

charlesdarwin_02Byrd’s Books is proud to host Berry School’s Shop Night on Wednesday November 9th from 6-9pm. As with all non-profits, this night will have 20% of the net sales go to Berry’s PTO. We are also hosting author and illustrator Jennifer Thermes, who will sign her newest book, “Charles Darwin’s Around-The-World Adventure”

This event is open to all- come support Berry’s students and teachers!

Our 2015 Holiday catalogue

NEIBA catalogCheck out the titles in our 2015 Holiday Catalogue! We have some great titles that are hand-picked just for you. Click here to be directed to the full listing.

Byrd’s Books 2014 Holiday Catalogue

NEIBA holiday catalogueWe have a wonderful assortment of holiday titles in our 2014 Holiday catalogue. To see the list click here.

 

 

 

 

 

Indies First on Small Business Saturday (November 29)!

CopernicusArchivesBestselling author Neil Gaiman and musician-author Amanda Palmer are leading the call for their fellow authors to join the campaign, to “volunteer” at an indie on AMEX_Shop_Small_Street_RGB_GRAD_LogoONLINESmall Business Saturday (November 29)!

So, Byrd’s Books has Len Vlahos (the Scar Boys, YA) at 10:00 a.m. and Tony Abbott (Goofballs (4-8), the Copernicus Legacy (9-12) coming at 11:00 a.m. to tell you about THEIR favorite books! More authors will be added as we get closer to 11/29.

As an added bonus, Danbury Animal Welfare Society will wrap your purchases for tips. Please join us for this fun day!

wwd