Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race

hidden-figuresBy Margot Lee Sheerly. An account of the previously unheralded but pivotal contributions of NASA’s African-American women mathematicians to America’s space program describes how they were segregated from their white counterparts by Jim Crow laws in spite of their groundbreaking successes.

When in French: Love in a Second Language

when-in-french“When New Yorker staff writer Lauren Collins moves to Geneva, Switzerland, she decides to learn French–not just to be able to go about her day-to-day life, but in order to be closer to her French husband and his family. When in French is at once a hilarious and idiosyncratic memoir about the things we do for love, and an exploration across cultures and history into how we learn languages, and what they say about who we are”

Pancakes in Paris: Living the American Dream in France

pancakes-parisBy Craig Carlson. “The heartwarming story of how one hungry American with a hankering for pancakes founded the first American-style diner in Paris”

A Conversation with Elissa Altman about her new book “Treyf” – Wednesday September 28th at 7:00pm

TreyfByrd’s Books welcomes back bestselling author Elissa Atman for an evening of conversation as she shares her new book, Treyf: My Life as an Unorthodox Outlaw, with us. The event will be catered at the bookstore by Michael Bick of Some Thing’s Fishy Catering. Assorted beverages will be served. To register, please click HERE.

About the book:

From the “Washington Post” columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of “Poor Man’s Feast “comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction…
“Treyf” According to Leviticus, ” unkosher and prohibited,” like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, “imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit.”
Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets.
While the suburban promise of “The Brady Bunch” blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, “Treyf” captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

About the author:

Elissa Altman is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir “Poor Man’s Feast “and the James Beard Award winning blog of the same name. She writes the “Washington Post column,” Feeding My Mother, and her work has appeared everywhere from OnBeing.org and “O, The Oprah Magazine” to “Tin House, “the” New York Times” and the TEDx stage, and has been anthologized for five consecutive years in “Best Food Writing.”

Registration is required, due to space limitations- please click HERE.

Bobbi Wolverton Shares Her Story of “Black Empress: Rescuing a Puppy from Iran” on Friday December 2nd at 7pm

Wolverton - Black Empress cover RGB (3)Please join us Friday December 2nd at 7:00p.m. for an author talk like no other- saving a puppy while working in Iran. In this inspiring memoir, Bobbi Wolverton tells the story of rescuing her beloved dog from Iran. Her bond with the puppy brought untold happiness and important meaning throughout her life.

In 1972, at the age of 29, Bobbi Wolverton became a secretary at the Iran Safaris Company. Working in a foreign country was challenging and rewarding. Saving a throw-away puppy contributed to those challenges, ones that were both threatening and frightening.

From the moment of her arrival in Iran, she bonded with the runt puppy that was destined to be killed as the dog held no value to the fishing and hunting company.

To save the puppy, Wolverton defied her host and employer, as well as the Muslim culture. She survived dreadful incidents of river crossings, police interrogations and attempted rape and yet witnessed caring individuals who helped her save the puppy, the Black Empress. Join us to hear this thrilling true story.

Light refreshments will be served.

About the author:

Bobbi Phelps Wolverton grew up in Darien Connecticut, graduated from the University of California at Berkeley, and joined an international airline company in 1965. She worked as a flight attendant for six years, flying into Vietnam, bringing troops in and out of the warzone. During her world travels, she landed in Cairo just as the infamous Six-Day War erupted and was one of 567 rescued by the U.S. Navy’s Sixth Fleet.

In 1975 she created the Angler’s Calendar Company. Her business won Exporter of the Year for the State of Idaho.

Her accomplishments include: 

  • Arnold Gingrich Writing Award
  • President of the Authors Guild of Tennessee.
  • Twenty-year member of the Outdoor Writers Association of America.
  • Nine-year board member of The Nature Conservancy in Idaho.
  • Founding member with Dr. Marty Becker (Dr. Oz Show Veterinarian) of the Hound Pound, a Twin Falls, Idaho, animal shelter.

Maggie Smith: A Biography

Maggie SmithAn intimate portrait of a truly remarkable performer—known most recently for her star turn in Downton Abbey—whose stage and screen career spans 60 years is written with her blessing and drawn from her personal archives as well as interviews with immediate family and close friends.

Between the World and Me

BetweenThe author presents a history of racial discrimination in the United States and a narrative of his own personal experiences of contemporary race relations, offering possible resolutions for the future. Told through the author’s own evolving understanding of the subject over the course of his life comes a bold and personal investigation into America’s racial history and its contemporary echoes.

The Theft of Memory

TyphoidIn a riveting biography that reads like a crime novel, a Sibert Medalist and Newbery-Honor winner uncovers the true story of Mary Mallon, a.k.a. Typhoid Mary, one of the most notorious and misunderstood women in American history. (yes, it is a book for 9-11 year olds, but it is awesome!)

Empire of Deception: The Incredible Story of a Master Swindler Who Seduced a City and Captivated the Nation

Empire of DeceptionDocuments the multimillion-dollar Ponzi scheme of charismatic lawyer Leo Koretz in Roaring Twenties Chicago, the subsequent international manhunt by an ambitious state attorney, and Leo’s mysterious death in prison.

Unbroken (Young Readers’ Edition)

UnbrokenUnbroken
By Laura Hillenbrand

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting biography includes more than 100 black-and-white photos, as well as exclusive content, In Conversation, with Laura Hillenbrand and Louie Zamperini.

“Every young person should have the chance to read this book. It’s easy to think, growing up, that bravery is for other people, who are simply born heroic. But nothing about Louis marked him out for greatness. He started out as a misfit and troublemaker, but became a great man because of his choices. His story shows that everyone has the potential to rise above obstacles. It is not where you start out in life that counts the most, it is how you choose to face it.” —Angelina Jolie

On a May afternoon in 1943, an American military plane crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared. It was that of a young lieutenant, the plane’s bombardier, who was struggling to a life raft and pulling himself aboard. So began one of the most extraordinary sagas of the Second World War.

The lieutenant’s name was Louis Zamperini. As a boy, he had been a clever delinquent, breaking into houses, brawling, and stealing. As a teenager, he had channeled his defiance into running, discovering a supreme talent that carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when war came, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a journey that led to his doomed flight, a tiny raft, and a drift into the unknown.

Ahead of Zamperini lay thousands of miles of open ocean, leaping sharks, a sinking raft, thirst and starvation, enemy aircraft, and, beyond, a trial even greater. Driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would respond to desperation with ingenuity, suffering with hope and humor, brutality with rebellion. His fate, whether triumph or tragedy, would hang on the fraying wire of his will.

In this captivating young adult edition of her award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller, Laura Hillenbrand tells the story of a man’s breathtaking odyssey and the courage, cunning, and fortitude he found to endure and overcome. Lavishly illustrated with more than one hundred photographs and featuring an exclusive interview with Zamperini, Unbroken will introduce a new generation to one of history’s most thrilling survival epics.

wwd