Tales of the Peculiar

takes-peculiarBy Millard Nullings. A lavishly illustrated edition of the fantastical book featured in the best-selling Miss Peregrine series includes unusual fairy tales about wealthy cannibals, a fork-tongued princess, the origins of the first ymbryne, and more. Publishing to coincide with the film release of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children in September 2016.

Brian Meehl brings us “Blowback ’07” on Saturday Nov. 12 at 4pm

Byrd’s Books is thrilled to bring back author Brian Meehl for his latest novel for young people, “Blowback ’07” on Saturday November 12th at 4:00pm  (book: grades 7-12, author talk- all ages!!).

When was football almost abolished?

When was the forward pass against the rules?

Why was the first football helmet something you grew?
Hear the answers and much more about how football was saved and transformed into the game we know today by a scrappy team of Indians from the Carlisle Indian School.

This event is free, to save a spot and/or pre-order the book, click HERE.

About the book:

blowbackClashing teenage twins Arky and Iris have one thing in common: an ancient musical instrument left to them by their mother. When Iris plays the strangely curved woodwind, the trouble begins; Arky’s friend, Matt, the school’s star quarterback, disappears.

Transported to 1907 and the Carlisle Indian School, Matt is forced to play football for Coach Pop Warner as the Carlisle “Redmen” revolutionize Ivy League football. Matt’s struggle to “play his way home” is complicated when he falls in love with an Indian girl.

Meanwhile, Arky and Iris discover a cache of secrets that might bring Matt back, and lead to the ultimate rescue: their mother, trapped in the past.

Blowback ’07 launches a century-spanning trilogy to be continued in Blowback ’63 and Blowback ’94. Books two and three propel Arky and Iris to the illuminating past, and transform them in ways they never imagined. After all, as their mother once cautioned, “Every road to the future winds through the past.”

About the author:

Brian Meehl is the award-winning author of five novels, including the vampire comedies, Suck It Up and Suck It Up and Die. He enjoyed a successful career writing for television, winning three Emmys, and performing Muppets on “Sesame Street” and in Jim Henson films, including “The Dark Crystal.” While he’s currently finishing up the next two books in his Blowback trilogy, Brian welcomes visitors to his websites, blowbacktrilogy.com and brianmeehl.com.

This event is free, to save a spot and/or pre-order the book, click HERE.

The Rose Society

Rose SocietyThe Rose Society
By Marie Lu

From New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes the second book in the exhilarating Young Elites series.

“Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.”

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?

Bestselling author Marie Lu delivers another heart-pounding adventure in this exhilarating sequel to The Young Elites.

The Lost Girl

Lost GirlThe Lost Girl
By R.L. Stine

Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine’s bestselling and hugely popular horror series, Fear Street and Goosebumps. Now, the Fear Street series is back with a chilling new installment, packed with pure nightmare fodder that will scare Stine’s avid fan base of teen readers and adults. New student Lizzy Palmer is the talk of Shadyside High. Michael and his girlfriend Pepper befriend her, but the closer they get to her, the stranger she seems and the more attractive she is to Michael. He invites her to join him on a snowmobile race that ends in a tragic accident. Soon, Michael’s friends start being murdered, and Pepper becomes convinced that Lizzy is behind the killings. But to her total shock, she and Michael are drawn into a tragic story of an unthinkable betrayal committed over 60 years ago. Frightening and tense in the way that only this master of horror can deliver, The Lost Girl is another terrifying Fear Street novel by the king of juvenile horror.

Twilight Tenth Anniversary/Life and Death Dual Edition

TwilightTwilight Tenth Anniversary/Life and Death Dual Edition
By Stephenie Meyer

Celebrate the tenth anniversary of Twilight with this special double-feature book! This new edition pairs the classic love story with Stephenie Meyer’s bold and surprising reimagining of the complete novel with the characters’ genders reversed. In Life and Death, readers will be thrilled to experience this iconic tale told through the eyes of a human teenage boy in love with a female vampire. Packaged as an oversize, jacketed hardcover flip book, this edition features nearly 400 pages of new content as well as exquisite new cover art. Fans of Bella and Edward will not want to miss the opportunity to see these iconic characters portrayed in intriguing new roles.

The Last Leaves Falling

Last Leaves FallingBy Sarah Benwell

A teen grapples with ALS and his decision to die in this devastatingly beautiful debut novel infused with the haunting grace of samurai death poetry and the noble importance of friendship.

Abe Sora is going to die, and he’s only seventeen years old. Diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), he’s already lost the use of his legs, which means he can no longer attend school. Seeking a sense of normality, Sora visits teen chat rooms online and finally finds what he’s been longing for: friendship without pity.

As much as he loves his new friends, he can’t ignore what’s ahead. He’s beginning to lose the function of his hands, and soon he’ll become even more of a burden to his mother. Inspired by the death poems of the legendary Japanese warriors known as samurai, Sora makes the decision to leave life on his own terms. And he needs his friends to help him.

Another Day

ANOTHER DAY.inddBy David Levithan

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person…wasn’t Justin at all.


By Ilima Todd Remake

A World Where Freedom Isn’t a Choice

Nine is the ninth female born in her batch of ten females and ten males. By design, her life in Freedom Province is without complications or consequences. However, such freedom comes with a price. The Prime Maker is determined to keep that price a secret from the new batches of citizens that are born, nurtured, and raised androgynously.

But Nine isn’t like every other batcher. She harbors indecision and worries about her upcoming Remake Day – her seventeenth birthday, the age when batchers fly to the Remake facility and have the freedom to choose who and what they’ll be.

When Nine discovers the truth about life outside of Freedom Province, including the secret plan of the Prime Maker, she is pulled between two worlds and two lives. Her decisions will test her courage, her heart, and her beliefs. Who can she trust? Who does she love? And most importantly, who wll she decide to be?


By Meg Wolitzer

“Wolitzer has imagined a world for young readers that celebrates the sacred, transcendent power of reading and writing.” –The New York Times Book Review
A PW Best Book of 2014

“There’s a place where the lost go to be found.”

If life were fair, Jam Gallahue would still be at home in New Jersey with her sweet British boyfriend, Reeve Maxfield. She’d be watching old comedy sketches with him. She’d be kissing him in the library stacks.

She certainly wouldn’t be at The Wooden Barn, a therapeutic boarding school in rural Vermont, signed up for an exclusive, supposedly life-changing class called Special Topics in English that focuses – only and entirely – on the works of Sylvia Plath.

But life isn’t fair. Reeve has been gone for almost a year and Jam is still mourning.

When a journal-writing assignment leads Jam into a mysterious other world she and her classmates call Belzhar, she discovers a realm where the untainted past is restored, and she can feel Reeve’s arms around her once again. But, as the pages of her journal begin to fill up, Jam must to confront hidden truths and ultimately decide what she’s willing to sacrifice to reclaim her loss.

From New York Times bestselling author Meg Wolitzer comes a breathtaking and surprising story about first love, deep sorrow, and the power of acceptance.

The Young Elites

By Marie Lu Young Elites

From the “New York Times”-bestselling author of “Legend.” Adelina Amouteru survived the blood plague but is left physically scarred. Cast out by her family, Adelina finds refuge within the secret society of Young Elites. To some, the Elites are heroes, but to the Inquisition Axis, they are monsters with demonic powers.