Edward Hopper Paints His World

EdwardHopperBy Robert Burleigh, illustrated by Wendell Minor

As a boy, Edward Hopper knew exactly what he wanted to be when he grew up: on the cover of his pencil box, he wrote the words EDWARD HOPPER, WOULD-BE ARTIST. He traveled to New York and to Paris to hone his craft. And even though no one wanted to buy his paintings for a long time, he never stopped believing in his dream to be an artist. He was fascinated with painting light and shadow and his works explore this challenge.

Edward Hopper’s story is one of courage, resilience, and determination. In this striking picture book biography, Robert Burleigh and Wendell Minor invite young readers into the world of a truly special American painter (most celebrated for his paintings “Nighthawks” and “Gas”).

The Crazy Classroom Caper

CrazyClassroomCaperBy Tony Abbott

Fans of Dav Pilkey’s The Adventures of Ook and Glook and Patricia Reilly Giff’s ZigZag Kids will flock to this chapter-book mystery series full of slapstick humor and silly situations by the wildly popular Tony Abbott, author of the Secrets of Droon series.

Jeff, Mara, Brian, and Kelly are Goofballs and proud of it. Goofball private eyes. Together, they solve mysteries. How do they discover the truth? They use funny disguises, nutty inventions, and their secret weapon: Sparky the Goofdog! Objects have been disappearing from Ms. Becker’s kindergarten classroom – blocks, an easel, even the class goldfish!

Luckily, the Goofballs are ready to go undercover to help their former teacher learn the truth. But posing as teachers is hard work, especially when the entire class may be as smart as Kelly, as observant as Jeff, as creative as Mara, and as goofy as Brian.

Everyone’s a suspect, and every time the Goofballs turn their backs, something else vanishes. Soon, the whole classroom will be gone! Have the Goofballs been out-goofed? These young sleuths have never failed so solve a case, and they don’t intend to start now!

The Circus Goes to Sea

CircusGoesSeaWritten by Kate Klise, illustrated by M. Sarah Klise

Don’t Miss the Boat! Sir Sidney’s Circus usually travels by train. But one day a letter arrives from Flora Endora Eliza LaBuena LaPasta inviting the circus aboard the SS Spaghetti, a floating palace of elegance and entertainment. Who could resist? One problem: Miss LaPasta does not want Barnabas Brambles to come aboard, because she has heard that he’s the meanest man alive. Sir Sidney, the “nicest” man alive, says that the entire circus will accept Miss LaPasta’s invitation, including Barnabas Brambles. But Leo the lion doesn’t like water. Elsa the elephant doesn’t know how to swim. Where will the Flying Banana Brothers put their trapeze? And hey, what’s that large object up ahead in the water? You’ll never guess what happens when The Circus Goes to Sea.

The Greatest Star On Earth

GreatestStarBy Kate Klise (Three-Ring Rascals #2)

The rascals from the world’s friendliest family circus are back in the second installment of this smafunderful fully illustrated series. Everyone knows Sir Sidney’s Circus is the best in the world. But who’s the “star” of the show? The Circus Times is having a contest to find out. Just thinking about it gives Sir Sidney a worrywart, and it’s quickly clear why. Soon after he goes off to rest, the performers start thinking too much about winning the trophy and not enough about putting on a good show.

Meanwhile, it looks as if ringmaster-in-training Barnabas Brambles might need some help managing the crew, so Bert and Gert, the sly brother-and-sister mice who travel with the show, set out to write a book to teach him how it s done.

Does Bert and Gert’s plan work? And who is the star of the circus? All will be revealed in The Greatest Star on Earth.

Froodle

FroodleWritten & illustrated by Antoinette Portis

In a normal neighborhood, on a typical day, the birds chirp, the dogs bark and the cats meow. When Little Brown Bird decides she doesn’t want to sing the same old song, out comes a new tune that shakes up the neighborhood and changes things forever in this funny, innovative book that kids will love to read outloud. A Neal Porter Book.

Countablock

CountablockBy Christopher Franceschelli, illustrated by Peskimo

Following on the heels of a successful abecedary, Countablock features thick pages cut into the shape of each numeral, creating a peek-through guessing game around the number form itself. One acorn becomes… one oak tree! From snowmen to puddles and eggs to chicks, quantities are illustrated twice: both before and after their “transformations.” As children interact with the pages, they will familiarize themselves not only with the numbers 1-100 and associated quantities, but with each numeral’s physicality – angles, holes, and curves, both front and back. Die-cut numerals include 1-10, and 20-100 by tens. Illustrated by hip British design team Peskimo, this fresh take on the 1-2-3s encourages readers to manipulate numbers in a whole new way.

The Pilot and the Little Prince

PilotLittlePrinceThe Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Written & illustrated by Peter Sis

Antoine de Saint-Exupery was born in France in 1900, when airplanes were just being invented. Antoine dreamed of flying and grew up to be a pilot–and that was when his adventures began. He found a job delivering mail by plane, which had never been done before. He and his fellow pilots traveled to faraway places and discovered new ways of getting from one place to the next. Antoine flew over mountains and deserts. He battled winds and storms. He tried to break aviation records, and sometimes he even crashed. From his plane, Antoine looked down on the earth and was inspired to write about his life and his pilot-hero friends in memoirs and in fiction. Peter Sis’s remarkable biography celebrates the author of The Little Prince, one of the most beloved books in the world.

The Secret Pool

SecretPoolBy Kimberly Ridley

You might walk right by a vernal pool and not notice it. Often mistaken for mere puddles in the woods, vernal pools are the source of life for many interesting creatures. If you look carefully, you can find them and be amazed! These secret pools form every year when low places on the forest floor fill up with rain and melted snow. They soon become home to hatching wood frogs, spotted salamanders, and fairy shrimp. Even in late summer and fall, when many vernal pools have shrunk to mud holes, creatures such as turtles and snakes rely on them for shelter and food. The Secret Pool introduces young readers to the wonders right underfoot as the voice of a vernal pool shares its secrets through the seasons, and sidebars provide fun facts on its inhabitants and the crucial role these small, often overlooked wetlands play in maintaining a healthy environment.

Some Bugs

SomeBugsGet the buzz on bugs in this picture book from Angela DiTerlizzi!

Grab your magnifying glass! Find your field guide! And come hop, hide, swim, and glide through this buggy backyard world!

Featuring insects including butterflies and moths, crickets and cicadas, bumblebees and beetles, this zippy rhyming exploration of backyard-bug behavior is sure to have insect enthusiasts of all ages bugging out with excitement!

Hi, Koo!: A Year of Seasons

HiKooBy Jon J. Muth

Caldecott Honoree and New York Times bestselling author/artist Jon J. Muth takes a fresh and exciting new look at the four seasons!

Eating warm cookies
on a cold day
is easy
water catches
every thrown stone
skip skip splash

With a featherlight touch and disarming charm, Jon J. Muth – and his delightful little panda bear, Koo – challenge readers to stretch their minds and imaginations with twenty-six haikus about the four seasons.

wwd