Zero

ZeroTradeBkBy Kathryn Otoshi

Zero is a big round number. When she looks at herself, she just sees a hole right in her center. Every day she watches the other numbers line up to count: “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 . . . !” “Those numbers have value. That’s why they count,” she thinks. But how could a number worth nothing become something? Zero feels empty inside. She watches One having fun with the other numbers. One has bold strokes and squared corners. Zero is big and round with no corners at all. “If I were like One, then I can count too,” she thinks. So she pushes and pulls, stretches and straightens, forces and flattens herself, but in the end she realizes that she can only be Zero.

As budding young readers learn about numbers and counting, they are also introduced to accepting different body types, developing social skills and character, and learning what it means to find value in yourself and in others.

Roald Dahl’s Story-Sketcher

RoaldDahlsStorySketcherRoald Dahl’s Story-Sketcher: Create! Doodle! Imagine! by Roald Dahl, illustrated by Quentin Blake

This doodle book is the perfect way for every young Roald Dahl fan to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

This 128-page doodle book includes activities based many of Roald Dahl’s most famous stories, including Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and features the iconic artwork of Quentin Blake.

Nature Trails: Beetles and Bugs

NatureTrailsBy Maurice Pledger

This touch-and-feel adventure by illustrator Maurice Pledger is sure to inspire even the littlest readers to explore their own backyards. In this book for children ages three and up, you’ll find a touchable texture on every page and learn about the wonderful world of beetles and bugs. Nature Trails: Beetles and Bugs lets you feel your way through nature and meet many fascinating creatures that inhabit the world around us.

Little Boo

LittleBooBy Stephen Wunderli, illustrated by Tim Zeltner

The leaves fall, the wind blows, and one little pumpkin seed tries to be scary. But he doesn’t scare anyone, not the snowflakes in winter, not the bees in spring, not even the watering can! The wind tells him to be patient – he’ll be scary soon enough. But waiting is hard. Will the little seed ever be really, truly scary?

Leroy Ninker Saddles Up

LeroyNinkerBy Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Chris Van Duren

Yippie-i-oh! Saddle up for the first in a spin-off series starring favorite characters from Kate DiCamillo’s New York Times best-selling Mercy Watson books.

Leroy Ninker has a hat, a lasso, and boots. What he doesn’t have is a horse – until he meets Maybelline, that is, and then it’s love at first sight. Maybelline loves spaghetti and sweet nothings, and she loves Leroy, too. But when Leroy forgets the third and final rule of caring for Maybelline, disaster ensues. Can Leroy wrestle fate to the ground, rescue the horse of his heart, and lasso loneliness for good? Join Leroy, Maybelline, and a cast of familiar characters – Stella, Frank, Mrs. Watson, and everyone’s favorite porcine wonder, Mercy – for some hilarious and heartfelt horsing around on Deckawoo Drive.

Just Right for Two

JustRightforTwoBy Tracey Corderoy, illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw

Dog has everything he needs in his big blue suitcase. Or does he?

Dog’s big blue suitcase is the perfect fit for all the little treasures he has collected. He is sure that he is happy with just himself and his suitcase. Until one night when Mouse comes along, and Dog discovers that his big blue suitcase is actually just right for two.

Hermelin the Detective Mouse

HermelinBy Mini Grey

Ratatouille meets Sherlock Holmes in this heartwarming story of mystery and adventure, acceptance and friendship, by the acclaimed creator of Traction Man and Toys in Space.

Hermelin is a special little mouse. He was born in a box of cheese and lives in an attic at 33 Offley Street. He can read books and type notes on his typewriter. Most importantly, Hermelin can solve mysteries. And the people of Offley Street are in need of a detective!

Again and again, Hermelin is on the case – the anonymous hero. But when his neighbors invite him to a thank-you party in his honor and find out who Hermelin really is – a MOUSE! – will he still be welcome on Offley Street?

Edward Hopper Paints His World

EdwardHopperBy Robert Burleigh, illustrated by Wendell Minor

As a boy, Edward Hopper knew exactly what he wanted to be when he grew up: on the cover of his pencil box, he wrote the words EDWARD HOPPER, WOULD-BE ARTIST. He traveled to New York and to Paris to hone his craft. And even though no one wanted to buy his paintings for a long time, he never stopped believing in his dream to be an artist. He was fascinated with painting light and shadow and his works explore this challenge.

Edward Hopper’s story is one of courage, resilience, and determination. In this striking picture book biography, Robert Burleigh and Wendell Minor invite young readers into the world of a truly special American painter (most celebrated for his paintings “Nighthawks” and “Gas”).

The Crazy Classroom Caper

CrazyClassroomCaperBy Tony Abbott

Fans of Dav Pilkey’s The Adventures of Ook and Glook and Patricia Reilly Giff’s ZigZag Kids will flock to this chapter-book mystery series full of slapstick humor and silly situations by the wildly popular Tony Abbott, author of the Secrets of Droon series.

Jeff, Mara, Brian, and Kelly are Goofballs and proud of it. Goofball private eyes. Together, they solve mysteries. How do they discover the truth? They use funny disguises, nutty inventions, and their secret weapon: Sparky the Goofdog! Objects have been disappearing from Ms. Becker’s kindergarten classroom – blocks, an easel, even the class goldfish!

Luckily, the Goofballs are ready to go undercover to help their former teacher learn the truth. But posing as teachers is hard work, especially when the entire class may be as smart as Kelly, as observant as Jeff, as creative as Mara, and as goofy as Brian.

Everyone’s a suspect, and every time the Goofballs turn their backs, something else vanishes. Soon, the whole classroom will be gone! Have the Goofballs been out-goofed? These young sleuths have never failed so solve a case, and they don’t intend to start now!

The Circus Goes to Sea

CircusGoesSeaWritten by Kate Klise, illustrated by M. Sarah Klise

Don’t Miss the Boat! Sir Sidney’s Circus usually travels by train. But one day a letter arrives from Flora Endora Eliza LaBuena LaPasta inviting the circus aboard the SS Spaghetti, a floating palace of elegance and entertainment. Who could resist? One problem: Miss LaPasta does not want Barnabas Brambles to come aboard, because she has heard that he’s the meanest man alive. Sir Sidney, the “nicest” man alive, says that the entire circus will accept Miss LaPasta’s invitation, including Barnabas Brambles. But Leo the lion doesn’t like water. Elsa the elephant doesn’t know how to swim. Where will the Flying Banana Brothers put their trapeze? And hey, what’s that large object up ahead in the water? You’ll never guess what happens when The Circus Goes to Sea.

wwd