Blue Sky White Stars

by Sarvinder Naberhaus . An inspiring and patriotic tribute to the beauty of the American flag, a symbol of America’s history, landscape, and people, illustrated by New York Times bestselling and Caldecott-honor winning artist Kadir Nelson

Wonderfully spare, deceptively simple verses pair with richly evocative paintings to celebrate the iconic imagery of our nation, beginning with the American flag. Each spread, sumptuously illustrated by award-winning artist Kadir Nelson, depicts a stirring tableau, from the view of the Statue of Library at Ellis Island to civil rights marchers shoulder to shoulder, to a spacecraft at Cape Canaveral blasting off.  This book is an ode to America then and now, from sea to shining sea.

Summer Reading lists 2017

As we get the Summer reading lists from the various schools we will post those from Bethel here, and try to link to the other towns as they are provided to us. We are looking forward to helping you find that perfect summer read!

NOTE: if the link does not work, it means the school has not posted the list- just check back in!

Bethel High School: click HERE for the online flyer.

Bethel Honors/AP list: click HERE for the online flyer.

Bethel Middle School Reading list: click HERE.

RMT Johnson School, grades 4 & 5, the same list, click HERE.

Rockwell and Berry summer lists/requirements (finally!…:-) HERE. Be sure to check out the Governor’s challenge list and the easy to print-out journals. We have some journals printed at the store if you do not have the ability to print.

Brookfield Schools: HERE.

Danbury High School: HERE.

Immaculate High School, Danbury, click HERE.

Joel Barlow High School, Redding, click HERE.

New Milford High School: HERE.

Newtown High School: click HERE.

Reed Intermediate School, Newtown, click HERE.

Saint Mary School, Bethel, HERE

 

 

 

 

SaveSave

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World

By Chelsea Clinton. Profiles the lives of thirteen American women who have left their mark on U.S. history, including Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Margaret Chase Smith, and Oprah Winfrey.

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

By Rita Williams-Garcia. From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next Chapter

 By Jeff Kinney. GO ON A MOVIE-MAKING JOURNEY OF EPIC PROPORTIONS IN THE WIMPY KID MOVIE DIARY: THE NEXT CHAPTER

Making a movie is a lot like going on a road trip. There are twists and turns and lots of surprises along the way.

Hit the road with author and illustrator Jeff Kinney and get a behind-the-scenes look at the making of the latest 20th Century Fox movie, Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul.

Find out what it takes to film a flock of seagulls invading a minivan. Learn about a robot pig and an animatronic three-year-old. And discover everything that goes into making a feature film.

Complete with exclusive set photos, storyboards, and original cartoons by Jeff Kinney, The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next Chapter is the perfect book for anyone who’s ever wondered how a movie gets made. But buckle up: You’re in for a wild ride!

The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: The Dark Prophecy

(SIGNED COPIES) By Rick Riordan. Zeus has punished his son Apollo–god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more–by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. What is affecting the Oracles, and how can Apollo/Lester do anything about them without his powers?

After experiencing a series of dangerous–and frankly, humiliating–trials at Camp Half-Blood, Lester must now leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. Somewhere in the American Midwest, he and his companions must find the most dangerous Oracle from ancient times: a haunted cave that may hold answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again–if it doesn’t kill him or drive him insane first. Standing in Apollo’s way is the second member of the evil Triumvirate, a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame. To survive the encounter, Apollo will need the help of son of Hephaestus Leo Valdez, the now-mortal sorceress Calypso, the bronze dragon Festus, and other unexpected allies–some familiar, some new–from the world of demigods. Come along for what promises to be a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride. . . .

CatStronauts 1: Mission Moon

When the world is thrust into darkness due to a global energy shortage, the Worlds Best Scientist comes up with a bold plan to set up a solar power plant on the moon. But someone has to go up there to set it up, and that adventure falls to the CatStronauts, the best space cats on the planet! Meet the fearless commander Major Meowser, brave-but-hungry pilot Waffles, genius technician and inventor Blanket, and quick thinking science officer Pom Pom on their most important mission yet!
In this graphic novel, debut author and illustrator Drew Brockington breathes life into a world populated entirely by cats, brimming with jokes, charm, science, and enough big boxes and tuna sandwiches for everyone!

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

by Deborah Heiligman. A meticulously researched account of the relationship between brothers Theo and Vincent van Gogh draws on hundreds of letters written by the master artist that illuminate how Theo supported Vincent throughout the latter’s creative and interpersonal struggles. By the National Book Award Finalist author of Charles and Emma

Grendel’s Guide to Love and War

By A.E. Kaplan. A teen misfit resolves to defeat a local bully who upsets the senior community by constantly throwing wild parties, an effort that is complicated by the teen’s father’s PTSD, his unrequited feelings for the bully’s sister and an existential crisis related to his mother’s death.

wwd