CatStronauts 1: Mission Moon

When the world is thrust into darkness due to a global energy shortage, the Worlds Best Scientist comes up with a bold plan to set up a solar power plant on the moon. But someone has to go up there to set it up, and that adventure falls to the CatStronauts, the best space cats on the planet! Meet the fearless commander Major Meowser, brave-but-hungry pilot Waffles, genius technician and inventor Blanket, and quick thinking science officer Pom Pom on their most important mission yet!
In this graphic novel, debut author and illustrator Drew Brockington breathes life into a world populated entirely by cats, brimming with jokes, charm, science, and enough big boxes and tuna sandwiches for everyone!

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

by Deborah Heiligman. A meticulously researched account of the relationship between brothers Theo and Vincent van Gogh draws on hundreds of letters written by the master artist that illuminate how Theo supported Vincent throughout the latter’s creative and interpersonal struggles. By the National Book Award Finalist author of Charles and Emma

Grendel’s Guide to Love and War

By A.E. Kaplan. A teen misfit resolves to defeat a local bully who upsets the senior community by constantly throwing wild parties, an effort that is complicated by the teen’s father’s PTSD, his unrequited feelings for the bully’s sister and an existential crisis related to his mother’s death.

Little Wolf’s First Howling

By Laura McGee Kvasnosky. Looking forward to joining his pack for a night of howling at the moon, Little Wolf watches as Big Wolf demonstrates traditional howling form before taking his own turn in surprising ways. By the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award-winning creator of Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways.

Pathfinders: The Journeys of 16 Extraordinary Black Souls

By Tonya Bolden. The Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author of Beautiful Moon presents a tribute to 16 diverse Americans of African descent who helped define history in the 18th through 20th centuries, including Allen Allensworth, Sissieretta Jones and Maggie Lena Walker.

Carve the Mark

By Veronica Roth. Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

By Kelley Barnhill. Winner of the 2017 Newbery Award for excellence in children’s literature.

In this New York Times bestselling epic fantasy, a young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside. The New York Times Book Review calls The Girl Who Drank the Moon “impossible to put down . . . as exciting and layered as classics like Peter Pan or TheWizard of Oz.”

Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the forest, Xan, is kind and gentle. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster named Glerk and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon, Fyrian. Xan rescues the abandoned children and deliver them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this enmagicked girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. To keep young Luna safe from her own unwieldy power, Xan locks her magic deep inside her. When Luna approaches her thirteenth birthday, her magic begins to emerge on schedule–but Xan is far away. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Soon, it is up to Luna to protect those who have protected her–even if it means the end of the loving, safe world she’s always known.

The acclaimed author of The Witch’s Boy has created another epic coming-of-age fairy tale destined to become a modern classic.

Charles Darwin’s Around-the-World Adventure

By Jennifer Thermes. Follows Charles Darwin’s five year voyage, detailing the discoveries he made and how his travels changed how people view the world.


 

Charles Darwin was a scientist by profession but an explorer at heart. At age 22, Darwin embarked on his first voyage aboard a ship called theBeagle. This picture book follows Charles as he explores South America for the first time, collecting insects, galloping with gauchos, digging up dinosaur bones, eating armadillo for breakfast, and making early discoveries related to evolution and natural selection. He encounters a volcano, a glacier, and an earthquake and survives a harrowing five-year journey before returning home to England, determined to devote his life to the natural world. Complete with mesmerizing map work charting his voyage, this biography communicates Darwin’s ideas and discoveries with gentle illustrations that capture his admiration for the world around him.

Some Writer! The Story of E.B. White

In this stunning, first-ever fully-illustrated biography of legendary author E.B. White, Sibert medalist and Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet uses White’s letters, photos, and mementos, as well as her original collaged art, to tell the true story of one of the most beloved authors of all time.

The Sheepover

After Sweet Pea, the orphan lamb, recovers from an illness, Sunny, Prem and Violet, her closest friends, join her in the greenhouse for an imaginative “SheepOver” celebration.

wwd