A Conversation with Elissa Altman about her new book “Treyf” – Wednesday September 28th at 7:00pm

TreyfByrd’s Books welcomes back bestselling author Elissa Atman for an evening of conversation as she shares her new book, Treyf: My Life as an Unorthodox Outlaw, with us. The event will be catered at the bookstore by Michael Bick of Some Thing’s Fishy Catering. Assorted beverages will be served. To register, please click HERE.

About the book:

From the “Washington Post” columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of “Poor Man’s Feast “comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction…
“Treyf” According to Leviticus, ” unkosher and prohibited,” like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, “imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit.”
Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets.
While the suburban promise of “The Brady Bunch” blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, “Treyf” captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

About the author:

Elissa Altman is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir “Poor Man’s Feast “and the James Beard Award winning blog of the same name. She writes the “Washington Post column,” Feeding My Mother, and her work has appeared everywhere from OnBeing.org and “O, The Oprah Magazine” to “Tin House, “the” New York Times” and the TEDx stage, and has been anthologized for five consecutive years in “Best Food Writing.”

Registration is required, due to space limitations- please click HERE.

Byrd’s Books brings “The Pollan Family Table” to the Bethel Public Library

Byrd’s Books welcomes Corky, Lori and Dana Pollan to the Bethel Public Library on Thursday October 13th at 6:30 as they discuss their new book, “The Pollan Family Table”.

About the book:

Pollan Family TableIn “The Pollan Family Table,” Corky, Lori, Dana, and Tracy Pollan invite you into their warm, inspiring kitchens, sharing more than 100 of their family s best recipes. For generations, the Pollans have used fresh, local ingredients to cook healthy, irresistible meals. Michael Pollan, whose bestselling books have changed our culture and the way we think about food, writes in his foreword about how the family meals he ate growing up shaped his worldview. This stunning and practical cookbook gives readers the tools they need to implement the Pollan food philosophy in their everyday lives and to make great, nourishing, delectable meals that bring families back to the table. family
Standouts like Grand Marnier Citrus Roasted Chicken, Crispy Parmesan Zucchini Chips, and Key Lime Pie with Walnut Oatmeal Crust are easy to make yet sophisticated enough to dazzle family and friends. With hundreds of exquisite color photographs, “The Pollan Family Table” includes the Pollan s top cooking tips and techniques, time-tested shortcuts, advice for those just starting out and market and pantry lists that make shopping for and preparing dinner stress-free. This instant kitchen classic will help readers create incredible meals and cultivate traditions that improve health, well-being, and family happiness.”

Please click the link HERE to register.

Gail Carson Levine will read from her first book of poetry Friday October 21 at 7pm

Many of us know Newbery Honor winner Gail Carson Levine from her award winning children’s books. What we did not know is that she can write poetry.

Byrd’s Books is honored to host an evening of the author reading her poetry from her new book, “Transient” on Friday October 21st at 7:00pm. Light refreshments will be served.

About the book:

transient_coverThe poems in Transient will stay with you. When the world turns to war, you’ll remember “Manufactured Rage,” while “Dreaming Washington Irving” will fast-forward you through the stages of your own life. Called up by such poems as “Reunion” and “Lunch at Monica’s House,” lost friends and family will return and visit. In poems like “L.E.D. R.I.P,” you’ll put the dark in humor up against the funny in tragedy. And if you wonder what ET makes of all of it, you’ll return to “Do They Deduce We Had Lips,” the debut poem in this debut collection by acclaimed children’s book author Gail Carson Levine. Those who look to Levine for the fantastic will find a dog-faced man, Medusa, Pygmalion, a hero of the Iliad, and–Jughead!-seen through a lens more Sexton than Seuss. The emotional range here is both broad and nuanced: humor, nostalgia, grief, shame, anger, regret, fear, and even-occasionally-joy. Throughout, in every-day language gracefully arranged, Levine elevates ordinary ideas and common experience so that all is haloed in light.

About the author: Gail-Carson-Levine-photo-by-David-Levine-200x300

Gail Carson Levine’s poems have appeared in The Louisville Review; The Sugar House Review; Bigger Than They Appear: Anthology of Very Short Poems; and the second anthology of the Cancer Poetry Project. A poem is forthcoming in New York Quarterly. Levine recently completed her MFA in poetry at NYU. Best known for her books for children, Transient is Levine’s first poetry collection for adults. She, her husband David, and their Airedale Reggie live in an antique farm house in Brewster, NY.

wwd