Join the celebration of Karen Romano Young’s new book, “Hundred Percent”

Hundred percentJoin us for a very special afternoon on Saturday August 27th at 4:00pm as we celebrate the release of Karen Romano Young’s newest book, “Hundred Percent”. We will celebrate with readings from her book performed by middle schoolers. Light refreshments will be served. All ages welcome!

About the book:

The last year of elementary school is big for every kid. In this utterly honest, equal parts funny and crushing, novel perfect for boys and girls alike, Christine Gouda faces change at every turn, starting with her own nickname—Tink—which just doesn’t fit anymore. Readers will relate to this strong female protagonist whose voice rings with profound authenticity and absolute novelty, and her year’s cringingly painful trials in normalcy—uncomfortable Halloween costumes, premature sleepover parties, crushed crushes, and changing friendships. Throughout all this, Tink learns, what you call yourself, and how you do it, has alot to do with who you are. 
This book marks beloved author Karen Romano Young’s masterful return to children’s literature: a heartbreakingly honest account of what it means to be between girl and woman, elementary and middle school, inside and out—and just what you name that in-between self.

A little about Karen:

“My husband, children, dog, cat, guinea pigs, and I have a small, noisy, weird house in the Connecticut woods. Our lives are full of books, and we all read every chance we get. I write everyplace: in the kitchen, in the car, in the barn, in the school parking lot, in the Reading Room at the New York Public Library, at the beach. I write and write and write….”

Reviews:

“Hundred Percent is a brilliant and irresistible book about the sharp pains and joys of real life. Karen Romano Young is a writer like no other. She always finds the truest, most interesting paths to the heart.”-Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me

“Karen Romano Young must be twelve. There’s no other way she can possibly know what she knows about sixth grade in all its weirdness and glory. Seen and felt and conveyed with unbelievable freshness and acuity, Hundred Percent handily performs the almost-impossible feat of offering its readers a mirror to their lives without gloom or condescension.”-Annie Barrows, New York Times bestselling author of the Ivy & Bean series

“Karen Romano Young has an unerring feel for the shifting alliances and uncomfortable intrigues of sixth graders. The voices are unique and the dialogue sparkles. Your heart will crack open as the cast of characters tries on one personality after the other, hoping to find the one that fits.” -Ellen Wittlinger, Printz Honor-winning author of Hard Love

“A lovely, lovely tale full of warmth, humor, and intelligence.”-Kirkus Reviews, starred review

To register and save a spot, click HERE.

A Conversation with Elissa Altman about her new book “Treyf” – Wednesday September 28th at 7:00pm

TreyfByrd’s Books welcomes back bestselling author Elissa Atman for an evening of conversation as she shares her new book, Treyf: My Life as an Unorthodox Outlaw, with us. The event will be catered at the bookstore by Michael Bick of Some Thing’s Fishy Catering. Assorted beverages will be served. To register, please click HERE.

About the book:

From the “Washington Post” columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of “Poor Man’s Feast “comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction…
“Treyf” According to Leviticus, ” unkosher and prohibited,” like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, “imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit.”
Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets.
While the suburban promise of “The Brady Bunch” blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, “Treyf” captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

About the author:

Elissa Altman is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir “Poor Man’s Feast “and the James Beard Award winning blog of the same name. She writes the “Washington Post column,” Feeding My Mother, and her work has appeared everywhere from OnBeing.org and “O, The Oprah Magazine” to “Tin House, “the” New York Times” and the TEDx stage, and has been anthologized for five consecutive years in “Best Food Writing.”

Registration is required, due to space limitations- please click HERE.

Byrd’s Books brings “The Pollan Family Table” to the Bethel Public Library

Byrd’s Books welcomes Corky, Lori and Dana Pollan to the Bethel Public Library on Thursday October 13th at 6:30 as they discuss their new book, “The Pollan Family Table”.

About the book:

Pollan Family TableIn “The Pollan Family Table,” Corky, Lori, Dana, and Tracy Pollan invite you into their warm, inspiring kitchens, sharing more than 100 of their family s best recipes. For generations, the Pollans have used fresh, local ingredients to cook healthy, irresistible meals. Michael Pollan, whose bestselling books have changed our culture and the way we think about food, writes in his foreword about how the family meals he ate growing up shaped his worldview. This stunning and practical cookbook gives readers the tools they need to implement the Pollan food philosophy in their everyday lives and to make great, nourishing, delectable meals that bring families back to the table. family
Standouts like Grand Marnier Citrus Roasted Chicken, Crispy Parmesan Zucchini Chips, and Key Lime Pie with Walnut Oatmeal Crust are easy to make yet sophisticated enough to dazzle family and friends. With hundreds of exquisite color photographs, “The Pollan Family Table” includes the Pollan s top cooking tips and techniques, time-tested shortcuts, advice for those just starting out and market and pantry lists that make shopping for and preparing dinner stress-free. This instant kitchen classic will help readers create incredible meals and cultivate traditions that improve health, well-being, and family happiness.”

Please click the link HERE to register.

Gail Carson Levine will read from her first book of poetry Friday October 21 at 7pm

Many of us know Newbery Honor winner Gail Carson Levine from her award winning children’s books. What we did not know is that she can write poetry.

Byrd’s Books is honored to host an evening of the author reading her poetry from her new book, “Transient” on Friday October 21st at 7:00pm. Light refreshments will be served.

About the book:

transient_coverThe poems in Transient will stay with you. When the world turns to war, you’ll remember “Manufactured Rage,” while “Dreaming Washington Irving” will fast-forward you through the stages of your own life. Called up by such poems as “Reunion” and “Lunch at Monica’s House,” lost friends and family will return and visit. In poems like “L.E.D. R.I.P,” you’ll put the dark in humor up against the funny in tragedy. And if you wonder what ET makes of all of it, you’ll return to “Do They Deduce We Had Lips,” the debut poem in this debut collection by acclaimed children’s book author Gail Carson Levine. Those who look to Levine for the fantastic will find a dog-faced man, Medusa, Pygmalion, a hero of the Iliad, and–Jughead!-seen through a lens more Sexton than Seuss. The emotional range here is both broad and nuanced: humor, nostalgia, grief, shame, anger, regret, fear, and even-occasionally-joy. Throughout, in every-day language gracefully arranged, Levine elevates ordinary ideas and common experience so that all is haloed in light.

About the author: Gail-Carson-Levine-photo-by-David-Levine-200x300

Gail Carson Levine’s poems have appeared in The Louisville Review; The Sugar House Review; Bigger Than They Appear: Anthology of Very Short Poems; and the second anthology of the Cancer Poetry Project. A poem is forthcoming in New York Quarterly. Levine recently completed her MFA in poetry at NYU. Best known for her books for children, Transient is Levine’s first poetry collection for adults. She, her husband David, and their Airedale Reggie live in an antique farm house in Brewster, NY.

Writing Workshops With Judith Marks-White

swallow_and_scroll_with_writing_button-d1450076009474903837pvx_325Judith Marks-White will continue into the fall of 2016 with her great writing workshops. They fill up quickly so register here early!

The classes will function as workshops where you will be introduced to style, technique, tricks of the trade, and critiques of your work as you create a publishable piece of writing targeted to the current markets.

We work from provided prompts and write for 20 minutes, share each other’s work then comment to help improve the writer’s material. Although many of our attendees ahem been published, this workshop serv es beginner and advanced writer, alike.

The dates and times: You may register for one, or all of them (see registration button below). The fee for each workshop is $20.00, which is passed directly to the instructor.

The dates in this series of  workshops: (all are Sundays at 3:00pm, no August)

Sunday September 11th

Sunday September 25th

Sunday October 16th

Sunday October 30th

Sunday November 13th

Sunday December 4th

About the author and workshop facilitator:

Award-winning Westport News columnist and novelist, Ms. Marks-White has been involved in the design and instruction of creative writing programs in Connecticut, and has taught writing for many years. She was an adjunct Professor of English/Writing at Norwalk Community College for many years where she won Teacher of the Year Award for 2005 “for imparting wisdom with contagious enthusiasm” and where she continues to teach a course in the Art and Marketing of Humor Writing. 

Ms. Marks-White turned her attention to novel writing.  “Seducing Harry” was her debut novel.  Her second novel, is “Bachelor Degree”. Both are published by Random House/Ballantine.  She is presently working on her third novel. Ms. Marks-White lives in Connecticut.

To register for the workshops click HERE.

 

Story Time for Little ones Wednesday at 10 a.m.

Story TimeByrd’s Books host a Story Time for little ones at 10 on Wednesday mornings. No registration is required. For weather or holiday cancelations, please check the website and/or our Facebook page.

Facebook Friday Specials

We never know what special we’re going to cook up! The only way to find out – is to “LIKE” us on Facebook!

wwd