Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them–and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now–to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back–and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002)

By David Sedaris. (We have SIGNED copies) For forty years, David Sedaris has kept a diary in which he records everything that captures his attention-overheard comments, salacious gossip, soap opera plot twists, secrets confided by total strangers. These observations are the source code for his finest work, and through them he has honed his cunning, surprising sentences. Now, Sedaris shares his private writings with the world. Theft by Finding, the first of two volumes, is the story of how a drug-abusing dropout with a weakness for the International House of Pancakes and a chronic inability to hold down a real job became one of the funniest people on the planet. Written with a sharp eye and ear for the bizarre, the beautiful, and the uncomfortable, and with a generosity of spirit that even a misanthropic sense of humor can’t fully disguise, Theft By Finding proves that Sedaris is one of our great modern observers. It’s a potent reminder that when you’re as perceptive and curious as Sedaris, there’s no such thing as a boring day .

She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World

By Chelsea Clinton. Profiles the lives of thirteen American women who have left their mark on U.S. history, including Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Margaret Chase Smith, and Oprah Winfrey.

Touch

By Courtney Maum. A trend forecaster hired by a leading tech company suddenly finds herself in the position of wanting to overturn her own predictions when she senses the beginning of a movement against electronics in favor of compassion, empathy, and “in-personism.”

Milk and Honey

By Rupi Kaur. #1 New York Times bestseller Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Bethel Summerfest & Sidewalk Sale

sidewalksaleByrd’s Books will be out on the sidewalk and inside the store with specials on both Friday July 14th and Saturday July 15th! Many books and gifts on the sidewalk Saturday from $.50-$1.00 See you there…

 

 

Authors signing books will be outside for the day on Saturday the 15th- get your signed copy!

The 143rd in Iraq: The 143rd in Iraq provides a firsthand account of a National Guard Military Police Company’s attempt to recruit and prepare an Iraqi Police Force and the dangers they faced as a result. Ever wonder what “boots on the ground” means? This history makes it clear, putting you in the thick of the action with these brave men and women.
Marc Younquist has over 40 years experience in military and law enforcement. After retiring, he joined the U.S. Army Reserve, and then the Connecticut Army National Guard. During this time, he served in Panama, the Dominican Republic, as 9/11 Airport Security, and in Western Baghdad. Marc has a Masters Degree in Criminal Justice and is a graduate of the FBI National Academy. Marc lives, writes and builds kayaks with his wife and dogs in Connecticut.
                               
Love Your Life: Have you ever experienced the nagging sensation that your life hasn’t turned out the way you planned? This book is designed to help you get back on track so that you can live a life that you love and reclaim your happiness. If you’re ready to live a life that is both satisfying and fulfilling, this book is for you.
Cheryl Marks Young has ventured from the Caribbean to Antarctica, hitting all seven continents during her travels. Although trained in finance, Young explored several other job files, including hiking guide, travel writer, matchmaker, jewelry designer, professional coach and author. Through her own discovery process, she developed the Love Your Life process and used it to find her husband, the perfect home and a high-paying job with a successful nonprofit. Young now lives with her family in New Jersey and coaches others who want to crate a life they love.

What a great way to celebrate Summeriest and spend a weekend in Bethel- join us!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Churchill and Orwell: The Fight for Freedom

By Thomas E. Ricks. A dual portrait of Winston Churchill and George Orwell focuses on the pivotal years from the mid-1930s through the 1940s, describing how both suffered nearly fatal injuries before their vision and campaigns inspired action to preserve democracy throughout the world.

Byrd’s Books Summer Bookmark Contest- May 1st-31st

Design a bookmark inspired by your favorite book! You could win a Gift Certificate for $25.00 and 25 of your bookmarks in print for you to give to friends and WE will pass out the five winning designs all summer! The contest runs the month of May and will be judged by BethelArts.

ONE winning bookmark will be produced from EACH of the following 5 categories:

K – 3rd Grades, 4th – 5th Grades6th -8th Grades, 9th -12th Grades and we have added an Adult category!

Note- the size of the space for the bookmark is actually 2 inches wide by 6 inches high.

Click HERE for form.

Artwork and completed entry forms must be returned to Byrd’s Books by Wednesday May 31st at end of day.

 

 

 

 

Broken River

By J. Robert Lennon.

The most inventive and entertaining novel to date from “a master of the dark arts” (Kelly Link)

A modest house in upstate New York. One in the morning. Three people—a couple and their child—hurry out the door, but it’s too late for them. As the virtuosic and terrifying opening scene of Broken River unfolds, a spectral presence seems to be watching with cold and mysterious interest. Soon the house lies abandoned, and years later a new family moves in.

Karl, Eleanor, and their daughter, Irina, arrive from New York City in the wake of Karl’s infidelity to start anew. Karl tries to stabilize his flailing art career. Eleanor, a successful commercial novelist, eagerly pivots in a new creative direction. Meanwhile, twelve-year-old Irina becomes obsessed with the brutal murders that occurred in the house years earlier. And, secretly, so does her mother. As the ensemble cast grows to include Louis, a hapless salesman in a carpet warehouse who is haunted by his past, and Sam, a young woman newly reunited with her jailbird brother, the seemingly unrelated crime that opened the story becomes ominously relevant.

Hovering over all this activity looms a gradually awakening narrative consciousness that watches these characters lie to themselves and each other, unleashing forces that none of them could have anticipated and that put them in mortal danger. Broken River is a cinematic, darkly comic, and sui generis psychological thriller that could only have been written by J. Robert Lennon.

Pajama Storytime

Since the August 3rd night is full, we have added a second night on Tuesday August 1st at 6:30. Registration required- HERE.
Pajama Storytime with the Toy Room and Byrd’s Books on Tuesday August 1st and Thursday August 3rd at 6:30! 
Begin the hour with a craft at the Toy Room at 6:30pm then come across the street and hear bedtime stories from 7-7:30pm. The kids are welcome to wear their jammies and bring their stuffed friends to hear stories too!

SaveSave

wwd