Little Fires Everywhere

by Celeste Ng. Fighting an ugly custody battle with an artistic tenant who has little regard for the strict rules of their progressive Cleveland suburb, a straitlaced family woman who is seeking to adopt a baby becomes obsessed with exposing the tenant’s past, only to trigger devastating consequences for both of their families.

Byrd’s Books welcomes Chris Kukk for a discussion of his new book, “Compassionate Achiever”

Please join us for an evening of discussion with WCSU professor, Chris Kukk, as we explore his new book, “The Compassionate Achiever: How Helping Others Fuels Success” on Tuesday September 26th at 7:00pm. (note date change)

To register and buy a book, click HERE.

About the book:

A powerful, practical guide for cultivating compassion—the scientifically proven foundation for personal achievement and success at work, at home, and in the community.

For decades, we’ve been told the key to prosperity is to look out for number one. But recent science shows that to achieve durable success, we need to be more than just achievers; we need to be compassionate achievers.

New research in biology, neuroscience, and economics have found that compassion—recognizing a problem or caring about another’s pain and making a commitment to help—not only improves others’ lives; it can transform our own. Based on the most recent studies from a wide range of fields, The Compassionate Achiever reveals the profound benefits of practicing compassion including more constructive relationships, improved intelligence, and increased resiliency. To help us achieve these benefits, Christopher L. Kukk, the founding Director of the Center for Compassion, Creativity and Innovation, shares his unique 4-step program for cultivating compassion.

Kukk makes clear that practicing compassion isn’t about being a martyr or a paragon of virtue; it’s about rejecting rage and indifference and choosing instead to be a thoughtful, caring problem-solver. He identifies the skills every compassionate achiever should master—listening, understanding, connecting, and acting—and outlines how to develop each, with clear explanations, easy-to-implement strategies, actionable exercises, and real-world examples.

With the The Compassionate Achiever everyone wins—we can each achieve success in our own lives and create more productive workplaces, and healthier, less violent communities.

About the author:

Christopher L. Kukk, Ph.D., is a professor of political science and social science at Western Connecticut State University; founding director of the Center for Compassion, Creativity and Innovation; and faculty advisor for the University and City of Compassion initiatives. He is also cofounder and CEO of InnovOwl LLC, a research and consulting start-up for solving micro and macro problems through innovative education. He was an international security fellow at Harvard University’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, a counterintelligence agent for the United States Army, and a research associate for Cambridge Energy Research Associates. He lives in Brookfield, Connecticut.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Cooking For Picasso at LaZingara on Wednesday October 4th at 6:30

Please join us for a special evening on Wednesday October 4th at LaZingara with Camille Aubray, author of “Cooking For Picasso”. The $50.00 fee includes the book, a farm-fresh meal, tax and gratuity. Cash bar. This is a registration only event, to register, click HERE.

About the book:

In 1936, Céline’s grandmother Ondine Belange was a beautiful 17-year-old girl living in a tiny village in the south of France. The daughter of café owners, Ondine is sent to cook for a mysterious man who has rented a villa in Juan-les-Pins. When the temperamental 54-year-old turns out to be Pablo Picasso, known to have intense love affairs, Ondine’s life (and ultimately Céline’s) is changed forever, especially once she begins posing for him. In the modern day, Céline has come to France under the guise of taking a cooking class to search for the painting that her mother has told her Picasso gave her grandmother. She enlists the help of a celebrity chef, Gil Halliwell, to look for the painting that she is sure holds the key not only to her past but her future. The novel alternates between Ondine’s encounters with Picasso and the repercussions of that brief affair, and Céline’s adventures with cooking, love, and history along the Mediterranean. Both plot lines include a romance—one too sensationalized and one that climaxes without enough buildup. The real meat in this novel is the details (both real and imagined) of Picasso’s fascinating life. For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.

About the author:

Camille Aubray is an Edward F. Albee Foundation Fellowship winner. A writer-in-residence at the Karolyi Foundation in the South of France, she was a finalist for the Pushcart Press Editors’ Book Award and the Eugene O’Neill National Playwrights Conference. She studied writing at the University of London with David Hare, Tom Stoppard, and Fay Weldon; and with her mentor Margaret Atwood at the Humber College School of Creative Writing Workshop in Toronto. Aubray has been a staff writer for the daytime dramasOne Life to Live and Capitol, has taught writing at New York University, and has written and produced for ABC News, PBS, and A&E. The author divides her time between Connecticut and the South of France.

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

A Legacy of Spies

A long-anticipated new Smiley novel finds George Smiley, his colleague Peter Guillam and other former members of the British Secret Service facing charges for decades-old, once-toasted intelligence operations by a generation that is unfamiliar with the dynamics of the Cold War. By the best-selling author of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Stephen Colbert’s Midnight Confessions

Based on the popular segment from The Late Show, a revelatory compilation of satirical, irreverent writings conveys in self-deprecating language the innumerable memories and behaviors for which he is almost sorry.

Sing, Unburied, Sing

by Jesmyn Ward. Living with his grandparents and toddler sister on a Gulf Coast farm, Jojo navigates the challenges of his tormented mother’s addictions and his grandmother’s terminal cancer before the release of his father from prison prompts a road trip of danger and hope. By the National Book Award-winning author of Salvage the Bones.

The World of Tomorrow

Fleeing Ireland for New York City after stealing a small fortune from the IRA, three brothers immerse themselves in the cultural and political tensions of 1939, only to find their lives falling apart when they are tracked down by a hired assassin. (historical fiction)

A Bookstore Scavenger Hunt on Friday October 6th

We think a little bookstore fun is in order! Join us on Friday October 6th at 6:30pm for a Bookstore Scavenger Hunt while you enjoy a glass of wine (or other beverage) and some light apps. We will have clues for you to find your favorite books in the store. Just purchase your Scavenger Hunt Sheet for $15.00 (to cover the goodies).  To save a spot, click HERE.
Door Prizes, specials and lots of fun!!

SaveSaveSaveSave

Byrd’s and Buzzed at PourMe!

Byrd’s Books brings author Erik Ofgang to PourMe in downtown Danbury on Thursday October 26th at 7:00pm. With his book, Buzzed: Beers, Booze and Coffee Brews: Where to Enjoy the Best Craft Beverages in New England. Erik takes us on a journey throughout New England’s favorite beverage haunts. Join us for an evening of great dining, beverage samples and a book talk. Your $40.00 fee covers a copy of the book, lite fare from PourMe, tax and tip. Cash bar.

There will be limited space, so be sure to register early! HERE

 

PourMe is located at 274 Main Street in downtown Danbury.

SaveSave

SaveSave

Celebrate Morningstar: Growing Up With Books with Ann Hood

Join us Sunday afternoon October 29th at 3:00p.m. for a very special author talk with Ann Hood, author of Morningstar: Growing Up With Books. To register and save a spot, click HERE.

About the book:

In her admired works of fiction, including the recent The Book That Matters Most, Ann Hood explores the transformative power of literature. Now, with warmth and honesty, Hood reveals the personal story behind these beloved novels.

Growing up in a mill town in Rhode Island, in a household that didn’t foster a love of literature, Hood discovered nonetheless the transformative power of books. She learned to channel her imagination, ambitions, and curiosity by devouring ever-growing stacks. In Morningstar, Hood recollects how The Bell Jar, Marjorie Morningstar, The Harrad Experiment, and The Outsiders influenced her teen psyche and introduced her to topics that could not be discussed at home: desire, fear, sexuality, and madness. Later, Johnny Got His Gun and The Grapes of Wrath dramatically influenced her political thinking, while the Vietnam War and the Kent State shootings became headline news and classics such as Dr. Zhivago and Les Miserables stoked her ambitions to travel the world. With characteristic insight and charm, Hood showcases the ways in which books gave her life and can transform–even save–our own lives.

About the author: 

Ann Hood is the author of the best-selling novels The Book That Matters Most, The Knitting Circle, The Red Thread, The Obituary Writer, and Somewhere Off the Coast of Maine. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

Review Quotes:

Morningstar is a love letter to the very act of reading and the power of books to light the way. I can think of no better guide than Ann Hood, whose generosity of spirit, courage, humor, gumption, and grace are a powerful reminder that language and story have the capacity to heal, to instruct, and to change our lives. What a mighty little book, so full of heart. –Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion and Slow Motion

From Alice: I have read and loved this book dearly. Maybe I am just the right age to remember just how books defined certain periods of my life, but this book hit all the right makes for me. Read it, you will remember your own past and the books that resonated then.

SaveSave

wwd