Erik Ofgang shares the story of Gillette Castle on Thursday July 27 at 7pm

Erik Ofgang returns to Byrd's Books with his new book, "Gillette Castle: A History" on Thursday July 27th at 7:00pm. To save a spot, click HERE. About the book: During his career as an actor, William Gillette portrayed world-renowned character Sherlock Holmes in more than 1,300 performances. His career as a playwright and actor afforded him the opportunity to purchase a 184-acre estate, where he also built a twenty-four-room medieval-style … [Read More...]

Erik Ofgang shares the story of Gillette Castle on Thursday July 27 at 7pm

Erik Ofgang returns to Byrd's Books with his new book, "Gillette Castle: A History" on Thursday July 27th at 7:00pm. To save a spot, click HERE. About the book: During his career as an actor, William Gillette portrayed world-renowned character Sherlock Holmes in more than 1,300 performances. His career as a playwright and actor afforded him the opportunity to purchase a 184-acre estate, where he also built a twenty-four-room medieval-style … [Read More...]

Bookmark Contest Winners

Congrats to our BookMark Contest Winners! Oliver, Lola, Amel, Krystal, Isabella and Danielle all did wonderful work-as did all of you who have submitted. We had so many entries that we will award $10.00 gift certificates to the Honorable Mentions this year: Tamara, Lilah Rose, Paola, Angela, Francesca and Kate. All of the art was impressive, thanks to each of you who entered. … [Read More...]

Summer Reading lists 2017

As we get the Summer reading lists from the various schools we will post those from Bethel here, and try to link to the other towns as they are provided to us. We are looking forward to helping you find that perfect summer read! NOTE: if the link does not work, it means the school has not posted the list- just check back in! Bethel High School: click HERE for the online flyer. Bethel Honors/AP list: click HERE for the online … [Read More...]

Featured books & events

July is Where’s Waldo month in Bethel!

Where's Waldo? In Bethel of course.  The famous children’s book character in the striped shirt and black-rimmed specs is visiting twenty-five different local businesses throughout our community this July. Those who spot him can win prizes, including … [Read More...]

Pajama Storytime

Since the August 3rd night is full, we have added a second night on Tuesday August 1st at 6:30. Registration required- HERE. Pajama Storytime with the Toy Room and Byrd's Books on Tuesday August 1st and Thursday August 3rd at 6:30!  Begin the … [Read More...]

Men Without Women: Stories

By Haruki Murakami. A major new collection of stories by the internationally acclaimed author of Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage features male protagonists who find themselves alone in a smoky bar, in a baseball game, in the face … [Read More...]

Blue Sky White Stars

by Sarvinder Naberhaus . An inspiring and patriotic tribute to the beauty of the American flag, a symbol of America’s history, landscape, and people, illustrated by New York Times bestselling and Caldecott-honor winning artist Kadir Nelson Wonderfully spare, deceptively simple verses pair with richly evocative paintings to celebrate the iconic imagery of our nation, beginning with the American flag. Each spread, sumptuously illustrated by award-winning artist Kadir Nelson, depicts a stirring … [Read More...]

Summer Reading lists 2017

As we get the Summer reading lists from the various schools we will post those from Bethel here, and try to link to the other towns as they are provided to us. We are looking forward to helping you find that perfect summer read! NOTE: if the link does not work, it means the school has not posted the list- just check back in! Bethel High School: click HERE for the online flyer. Bethel Honors/AP list: click HERE for the online flyer. Bethel Middle School Reading list: click … [Read More...]

Orphan Island

By Laurel Snyder. For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island. On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing … [Read More...]

Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002)

By David Sedaris. (We have SIGNED copies) For forty years, David Sedaris has kept a diary in which he records everything that captures his attention-overheard comments, salacious gossip, soap opera plot twists, secrets confided by total strangers. These observations are the source code for his finest work, and through them he has honed his cunning, surprising sentences. Now, Sedaris shares his … [Read More...]

Churchill and Orwell: The Fight for Freedom

By Thomas E. Ricks. A dual portrait of Winston Churchill and George Orwell focuses on the pivotal years from the mid-1930s through the 1940s, describing how both suffered nearly fatal injuries before their vision and campaigns inspired action to preserve democracy throughout the world. … [Read More...]

Astrophysics For People in a Hurry

By Neil deGrasse-Tyson. What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There’s no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.But today, few of us have time to contemplate the cosmos. So Tyson brings the universe down to Earth succinctly and clearly, with … [Read More...]

wwd