We are one of Connecticut’s 10 Best Bookstores!

We made the list! Connecticut magazine has named us one of the 10 best bookstores in Connecticut! Read the full article HERE. … [Read More...]

An Afternoon of Poetry

In celebration of April's National Poetry Month, please join us for a very special afternoon of poetry on Sunday April 2nd at 3:00pm. We have lined up Gail Carson Levine, David K. Leff, Lisa Schwartz, Sydney Eddison, Brian Clements with WCSU MFA alumna Kateri Kosek and WCSU MFA student Ben Chase. Light refreshments will be served.   … [Read More...]

American Library Awards 2017

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature: “The Girl Who Drank the Moon,” written by Kelly Barnhill, and published by Algonquin Young Readers, an imprint of Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, a division of Workman Publishing Newbery Honor Books “Freedom over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan,” written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan, and published by Atheneum Books … [Read More...]

Join the celebration of Karen Romano Young’s new book, “Hundred Percent”

Join us for a very special afternoon on Saturday August 27th at 4:00pm as we celebrate the release of Karen Romano Young's newest book, "Hundred Percent". We will celebrate with readings from her book performed by middle schoolers. Light refreshments will be served. All ages welcome! About the book: The last year of elementary school is big for every kid. In this utterly honest, equal parts funny and crushing, novel perfect for boys and … [Read More...]

Featured books & events

The New York Times Book of Crime: More Than 166 Years of Covering the Beat

By Kevin Flynn. For 164 years, TheNew York Times has been a rich source of information about crime, its reporters racing alongside tabloids to track the shocking incidents that disrupt daily life. This fascinating compilation, edited by seasoned … [Read More...]

Lincoln in the Bardo

By George Saunders. A long-awaited first novel by the National Book Award-nominated, New York Times best-selling author of Tenth of December traces a night of solitary mourning and reflection as experienced by the 16th President after the death of … [Read More...]

Portraits of Courage: A Commander in Chief’s Tribute to America’s Warriors

By George W. Bush. A vibrant collection of military oil paintings and stories by the 43rd President, published to benefit the Military Service Initiative at the George W. Bush Presidential Center, stands as an official tie-in to the exhibition … [Read More...]

Pathfinders: The Journeys of 16 Extraordinary Black Souls

By Tonya Bolden. The Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author of Beautiful Moon presents a tribute to 16 diverse Americans of African descent who helped define history in the 18th through 20th centuries, including Allen Allensworth, Sissieretta Jones and Maggie Lena Walker. … [Read More...]

Carve the Mark

By Veronica Roth. Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series. On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their … [Read More...]

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

By Kelley Barnhill. Winner of the 2017 Newbery Award for excellence in children's literature. In this New York Times bestselling epic fantasy, a young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside. The New York Times Book Review calls The Girl Who Drank the Moon “impossible to put down . . . as exciting and layered as classics like Peter Pan or TheWizard of Oz." Every year, the people of the Protectorate … [Read More...]

The Ground Beneath Us: From the Oldest Cities to the Last Wilderness, What Dirt Tells Us About Who We Are

By Paul Bogard Our most compelling resource just might be the ground beneath our feet. When a teaspoon of soil contains millions of species, and when we pave over the earth on a daily basis, what does that mean for our future? What is the risk to our food supply, the planet's wildlife, the soil on which every life-form depends? How much undeveloped, untrodden ground do we even have … [Read More...]

The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit

By Michael Finkel. Documents the true story of a man who endured a hardscrabble, isolated existence in a tent in the Maine woods, never speaking with others and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins, for 27 years, in a portrait that illuminates the survival means he developed and the reasons behind his solitary life. For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a … [Read More...]

Lab Girl

By Hope Jahren. Lab Girl (now in paper) is a book about work, love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together. It is told through Jahren’s remarkable stories: about her childhood in rural Minnesota with an uncompromising mother and a father who encouraged hours of play in his classroom’s labs; about how she found a sanctuary in science, and learned to perform lab work … [Read More...]

wwd