bookmark_sky_2

Bethel Business of the Year 2015

We have been awarded Business of the Year 2015 from the Bethel Chamber of Commerce. What an honor, thank you so much! Bethel is the best town to live in and have a  business! “Local residents understand the uniqueness of our downtown and how important it is to preserve it,” said Alice Hutchinson, the owner of Byrds Books - a business now in its third year. “The downtown has always been a special destination, and now that people are starting to … [Read More...]

Postcards_Cover_Final

Postcards from the Highway of Life on Saturday September 12th at 4:00pm

Please join us as we welcome Garrison Leykam as he discusses and signs his new book, Postcards from the Highway of Life on Saturday September 12th at 4:00p.m. About the book: Just like vintage postcards capture and share in pictures the memories of a favorite road trip, Postcards from the Highway of Life captures in words the people and places and things that have influenced author Garrison Leykam on the experiential highway of his life. … [Read More...]

Little Paris Bookshop

The Little Paris Bookshop

By Nina George Monsieur Perdu can prescribe the perfect book for a broken heart. But can he fix his own? Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls. The only person he can't seem to heal through literature is himself; he's still haunted … [Read More...]

Sae Turtle

Sea Turtle Rescue: All About Sea Turtles and How to Save Them

Inspiring young animal lovers to get up close to sea turtles and the real-life challenges they face is what Mission: Sea Turtle Rescue is all about. Kids can connect their love of animals with their passion to help save them, discovering amazing true adventure stories, gorgeous photography, hands-on activities, fascinating information, and more. This introduction to sea turtles provides in-depth information about their habitats, challenges, and … [Read More...]

Featured books & events

Truth According to Us

The Truth According to Us

By Annie Barrows From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the … [Read More...]

Capitalism

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core “free market” ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, … [Read More...]

Go Set a Watchman

Go Set a Watchman

Twenty years after the trial of Tom Robinson, Scout returns home to Maycomb to visit her father and struggles with personal and political issues as her small Alabama town adjusts to the turbulent events beginning to transform the United States in the … [Read More...]

What Pet Should I Get

What Pet Should I Get?

By Dr. Seuss A never-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss! This never-ever-before-seen picture book by Dr. Seuss about making up one's mind is the literary equivalent of buried treasure! What happens when a brother and sister visit a pet store to pick a pet? Naturally, they can't choose just one! The tale captures a classic childhood moment choosing a pet and uses it to illuminate a life lesson: that it is hard to make up your mind, but sometimes you just have to do it! Told in Dr. … [Read More...]

Tucky Jo

Tucky Jo and Little Heart

By Patricia Polacco Friendship, loyalty, and kindness stand the test of time in this heartwarming World War II-era picture book based on a true story from the beloved author-illustrator of Pink and Say and The Keeping Quilt. Tucky Jo was known as the "kid from Kentucky" when he enlisted in the army at age fifteen. Being the youngest recruit in the Pacific during World War II was tough. But he finds a friend in a little girl who helps him soothe his bug bites, and he gets to know her family … [Read More...]

Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up

By Jennifer L. Holm From the groundbreaking and award-winning sister-brother team behind Babymouse comes a middle-grade, semi-autobiographical graphic novel. Following the lives of kids whose older brother's delinquent behavior has thrown their family into chaos, Sunny Side Up is at once a compelling "problem" story and a love letter to the comic books that help the protagonist make sense of her world. By sister-bother team Jennifer and Matthew Holm. A 200-page, full-color graphic novel … [Read More...]

Enchanted Forest

Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest & Coloring Book

By Johanna Basford Fall under the spell of the #1 New York Times Bestseller! This magical coloring book by Johanna Basford takes colorists through an enchanted forest to discover what lies in the castle. Similarly interactive like Secret Garden, Enchanted Forest also features hidden objects and fun mazes. Beginning at the entrance to a fairy-tale forest, the journey progresses through highly … [Read More...]

Being Mortal

Being Mortal

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End By Atul Gawande In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending. Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable. But in the inevitable … [Read More...]

KitchenKnowHow

The Backyard Homestead Book of Kitchen Know-How

The Backyard Homestead Book of Kitchen Know-How: Field-To-Table Cooking Skills By Andrea Chesman Your backyard homestead is a success! The vegetables and fruit are abundant and the fresh eggs are delicious, but they're more than your family can eat. Your pig is fattening up quickly; will you know how to fill out the cut sheet when it's time to call the butcher? A backyard bounty can be … [Read More...]

wwd